Spanish language news
Find Spanish language news
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowContains full-text business information including trade publications and newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, AP), company reports, and market data. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal.
Searching Multiple Databases at Once
Tips for searching multiple databases at once
Because the topics for this class are so interdisciplinary, you may want to search multiple databases at once. While I wouldn't recommend trying this with English search terms (you would probably be bombarded with thousands of results), it works fairly well using Spanish search terms. If you want to search all the EBSCO databases at once, try the following:
- Connect to the EBSCOhost databases.
- Check the box at the top for "Select / deselect all" or check the boxes next to the databases you want to search. Then click "Continue".
- Enter your Spanish language search terms without special characters in the search box (e.g., haiti and economia). Then click "Search".
Most results will be in Spanish. When you search all the EBSCO databases, you are not searching all the library's databases. However, your search will include results from Economia y Negocios, Fuente Academica, MedicLatina, and the MLA International Bibliography.
Recordings and Information about Music
WSU Library Catalog
Find CDs, records, streaming audio, and books on Spanish music. LC Subjects include: Music Spain, Music Spanish
- Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicA comprehensive encyclopedia covering the musical heritage and traditions of every region of the world, including description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians and all articles from the latest editions of the New Grove Dictionary of Opera; New Grove Dictionary of Jazz; Grove Dictionary of American Music; and Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments. The combination of volumes provides a comprehensive encyclopedia of music information regarding composers, instruments, performers, regions, countries and cities, styles, genres and terms.
Additional Databases with Spanish Language Emphasis
In most databases, if you don't see a link for the PDF or HTML full-text of the article, use the Find It! button to see if it is available full-text in another database or in print in Dunbar Library.
Although it doesn't necessarily have a Spanish language emphasis, you'll want to try some searches in JSTOR. It does have a lot of full-text Spanish journals.
- Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles from Spain, Portugal and Latin America in all major subject areas.
Information on countries
For additional resources, see Reference Bookcase 5.
- Passport This link opens in a new window
Includes over 3 million business statistics for over 200 countries; detailed lifestyle indicators for over 70 countries; volume and value market size data for more than 330 consumer products in over 50 countries. Also contains Euromonitor country profiles.
- Library of Congress Country StudiesContains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most of these studies were published between 1988-1998, although a few have been updated. They offer historical information and perspective.
Creating a movie or practicing and presentation
Creating a movie or practicing a presentation
If you need help creating a digital audio or video file, visit the Student Technology Assistance Center (STAC) on the 2nd floor of Dunbar Library. STAC can help you create great projects, even if you have no previous experience.
If you would like to practice your presentation, you can reserve Room 216 in Dunbar Library, which is similar in setup and technology to classrooms on campus.
Images
You may use these images for in-class presentations, but if your presentation or paper will be posted to the internet or published in some other way, then you must get the image creator's permission to use the image.
Always cite images as you would any other resource. See our guide for Citing your Sources or ask your librarian if you need help.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.
Alert: ARTstor content is migrating to JSTOR. The ARTstor website will be retired Aug 1, 2024; after August, the new URL will be jstor.org/images.
- Google Art ProjectVirtually explore museums from around the world, including great zoom features. Very fun!
- Wikimedia CommonsWikimedia Commons is a database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
Ask Us
Questions? Ask your librarian!
More research guides
Or use these related research guides: