It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BIO 2310 Evolution and Ecology: Home
Locate an Assigned Article to Read
Let’s assume you have been assigned to read the following article:
Wright, A., Schnitzer, S. & Reich, P. (2014). Living close to your neighbors: the importance of both competition and facilitation in plant communities. Ecology, 95(8), 2213-2223.
How would you find it?
Use the University Libraries website, eJournals search. Determine if electronic access is available for the journal Ecology, for year 2014, issue 95.
Locate this article using the University Libraries website:
Rooney, T. & Leach, M. (2010). Replacing hay-mowing with prescribed fire restores species diversity and conservation value in a tallgrass prairie sampled thrice: a 59-year study. American Midland Naturalist, 164(2), 311-321.
What URL would you use in your bibliography?
[If you are in a class session write down the URL on the provided index card.]
Locate Research Articles by Topic
You might have heard of scholarly peer-reviewed articles. But what does it mean?
Watch this explanation video:
Let’s assume your professor wants you to research the following topic: What general biogeographical patterns exist in fungi?
Your search phrase should look like this:
“BIOGEOGRAPHICAL PATTERN*” AND FUNG*
“ ” Quotation marks ensure that your search will find articles containing the exact phrase, BIOGEOGRAPHICAL PATTERN.
* Truncation (or wildcard) allows you to search for variations of a word that begin with the same letters, the stem of several words.
Example: FUNG* will find articles mentioning any of these words: FUNGI, FUNGUS, FUNGAL.
Databases you can use to locate research articles for this lab class:
QS covers research articles from multiple disciplines in the sciences, social sciences and the humanities. QuickSearch allows you to narrow the focus of your search through limits: years, subtopics, or geography.
SCI covers research articles published primarily in the sciences. Science Citation Index Expanded allows you to expand your search and locate more articles relevant to your paper through the use of cited and citing references.
Biosis Citation Index indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, technical reports, meeting abstracts, and patents in all areas of biology from 1926 to the present. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
[WSU Libraries purchased access for you from Clarivate Analytics.]
Indexes animal biology, biodiversity, environmental studies, and veterinary science literature published since 1864. Indexed publications include journals, books, reports, and meetings. Links to full-text when possible.
[WSU libraries purchased access for you from Clarivate Analytics.]
PubMed points to many different kinds of biomedical literature including research articles, clinical reports, and case studies. Use the Find-It button to determine WSU access options to the literature.
[WSU libraries purchased some article level access for you from multiple publishers.]
Search this comprehensive resource for sports, physical fitness and sports medicine literature. Full-text content comes from books, conference proceedings, and journals.
[WSU libraries purchased access for you from EBSCO.]