Ohio and Worldwide Library Catalogs
- INFOhioOhio's PreK-12 Library
These teaching resources are freely available to Ohio educators and organized by grade. - OhioLINK CatalogOhioLINK is the state-wide academic library partnership - you can have books sent to Dunbar or Lake Campus from other academic libraries across the state.
- SearchOhioSearchOhio is a consortium of public libraries that provides borrowing access to more than 16 million items.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window"WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 46 million records describing items owned by your library or libraries around the world; each record contains library holdings. It describes books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings, magazines, and videotapes. It does not include individual articles in journals and newspapers, or book chapters."
Recent Books
Recent books for Children's & Young Adult Literature research:
Multimedia for Children's & Young Adult Literature
You may use these multimedia resources for in-class presentations, but if your presentation or paper will be posted to the internet or published in some other way, then you must get the multimedia creator's permission to use the image.
Always cite multimedia resources as you would any other resource. See our guide for Citing your Sources or ask your librarian if you need help.
- Films on Demand
Includes a wide variety of curriculum-focused streaming video titles from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, A&E, History, BBC, National Geographic, and more. Modules include Master Academic, Nursing Core, World Cinema, and Allied Health.
- Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of teaching methods and education theory. Includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries and primary-source footage of students and teachers in classrooms.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
View streaming video of definitive performances of the worlds leading plays and film documentaries. Students, instructors, and researchers can bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging.
Images
You may use these multimedia resources for in-class presentations, but if your presentation or paper will be posted to the internet or published in some other way, then you must get the multimedia creator's permission to use the image.
Always cite multimedia resources as you would any other resource. See our guide for Citing your Sources or ask your librarian if you need help.
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLimited Use Dayton campus only
A nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
- Wikimedia CommonsA database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
- everystockphoto.comA meta search engine for free photos.
- Flickr's Creative Commons"Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license."
- Getty ImagesAnyone can use the photos: Getty Images has an open-embed program that will let users drop in any image they want, as long as the service gets to append a footer at the bottom of the picture with a credit and link to the licensing page.
- Morgue File"All photos found in the Morguefile archive are free for you to download and re-use in your work, be it commercial or not. The photos have been contributed by a wide range of creatives from around the world, ranging from amateur photo hobbyists to professionals."
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)Gateway to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention pictures. Collection includes natural disasters, bioterrorism, environmental and behavioral health, etc. "Most of the images in the collection are in the public domain and are thus free of any copyright restrictions. If you look directly beneath the image you will see a fair use statement that tells you if the image is public domain or copyright protected. Permission is not required for public domain images, but we do ask that you credit the original institution and contributor, when known, whenever the image is used in any publicly distributed media. If the image is copyright protected, you will have to contact the content provider to obtain usage permission."
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog"Some of these photos and images are in the public domain and may be used and reproduced without permission or fee. However, some photos and images may be protected by license."
Ask Us
Questions? Ask your librarian!
Questions? Ask a librarian!
Awards for Children's Books
- Mildred A. Batchelder AwardGiven to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States.
- Caldecott MedalAwarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
- Newbery MedalHonors the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
Awards for Young Adult Literature
- Newbery MedalFrom the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. First presented in 1922.
- Odyssey AwardGiven to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults.
- YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults"Best Fiction for Young Adults presents fiction titles published for young adults in the past 16 months that are recommended reading for ages 12 to 18.