Databases for Art
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search broad coverage of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture, and art history. Includes references that cite art reproductions used to illustrate articles and advertisements under the artists names. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Access full-text journals, periodicals, and books in art, art history, architecture and related fields. Includes references to works of art as well as art reviews.
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes historical literature on art, art history, architecture and related fields. Search as a companion to Art full-text. Covers 1929-1984.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Search an index of journals, books and other important reference sources published worldwide in the humanities. Contains unique full-text content not available in other indexes. Additional full-text may be available via Find-It.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the complete digitized backfile of core scholarly journals from a broad range of academic disciplines.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the arts and humanities and covers selected items from major science and social science journals. Represented disciplines include archaeology, architecture, art, classics, dance, film, folklore, poetry, history, language, linguistics, poetry, radio, television, and theatre. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as AHCI.
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
The Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024. Artstor content is being transferred to the JSTOR platform. 98% of the content has already been transferred. - Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001) and newly contributed articles. Includes art image thumbnails, line drawings, and links to external images.
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
The Historical NYT is an online digital reproduction of the New York Times, including photographs and advertisements.
Ask Us
Questions? Ask your librarian!
More research guides
Related research guides:
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.