Best Databases for Athletic Training Articles
-
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Search this comprehensive resource for sports, physical fitness and sports medicine literature. Full-text content comes from books, conference proceedings, and journals.
-
Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the sciences. Represented disciplines include astronomy, biochemistry, biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering, genetics, geology, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, pediatrics, pharmacology, physics, psychiatry, veterinary science, and zoology. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as SCI.
-
MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE PubMed provides free access to the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier database – MEDLINE. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare.
-
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Search MEDLINE using the EBSCOhost search interface. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare. MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Indexes research literature across a wide range of disciplines and formats. Use the library connection to gScholar to get more attached full-text articles.
Reading Scientific Articles
-
How to Understand a Fitness Research PaperBlog post from the National Academy of Sports Medicine.
-
How to Read a Scientific Paper [PDF]From Purdue University Libraries
-
How to Read a Research Study Article [PDF]Worksheet from College of DuPage Library. Adapted from How to read and understand a scientific paper: a guide for non-scientists by J. Raff.
-
Reading (and Understanding) ResearchOverview from College of DuPage Library. Adapted from How to read and understand a scientific paper: a guide for non-scientists by J. Raff.
-
How to Read a Scientific ArticleFrom Rice University. Describes each section and how to take notes and draw inferences as you read.
-
IMRD Cheat SheetFrom Carnegie Mellon University.
-
Simple Steps to Reading Scholarly ArticlesWright State University Research Toolkit Workshop.
