Research Guides: Dayton Holocaust Resource Center: Home

What is in the Dayton Holocaust Resource Center (DHRC)?

The Dayton Holocaust Resource Center (DHRC) collection was gifted from the Frydman family and is housed within the Charles and Renate Frydman Educational Resource Center (ERC). It includes teaching materials such as curriculum guides, films, audiobooks, and kits about the Holocaust, genocides, racism, and bullying.

For more information about using the collection, visit the Wright State University Libraries' DHRC information page.

This resource guide provides those interested in the DHRC collection with an understanding of what materials are available and inspiration for utilizing the resources in a classroom!

The Dayton Holocaust Resource Center's permanent exhibit, Prejudice & Memory: A Holocaust Exhibit, is located in the National Museum of the United States Air Force.

Photograph taken during the 1943 Warsaw Ghetto uprising, a young boy holds his hands over his head while a Nazi soldier points a gun in the young boys' direction.

Navigation

Select one of the topics within the Dayton Holocaust Resource Center's scope to find resources by age group and details about what information is included in each topic.

Each age group's page will have resources by format: print, related-teacher resources, audio-visual, and related websites or articles.

Holocaust: Hitler, Nazi Germany, medical experimentation, Kristallnacht, the Kindertransport, propaganda, resistance movements, and the Nuremberg Trials
Survivors: narratives from survivors
Concentration Camps: resources about specific concentration camps during WWII and other concentration, death, or labor camps
Genocide: resources about modern genocides
Bullying: resources about bullying
Racism: persecuted groups, anti-semitism, and teaching tolerance and understanding

In honor of Holocaust Remembrance Month, the University Libraries are highlighting resources from the Dayton Holocaust Resource Center, a specialized collection within the Charles and Renate Frydman Educational Resource Center.

Through Their Eyes: Artists of the Holocaust display highlights the experiences of artists, who survived the genocide of World War II. Visit the physical display in Paul Laurence Dunbar Library on the 2nd floor. Visit the library guide, click here.

University Libraries' Catalog Searching

Visit the University Libraries' Catalog to search for DHRC resources by selecting Dayton Holocaust Resource Center from the drop-down box list to the left of the Search button.

Library Catalog

Enter search terms in the middle search bar with keywords related to the holocaust. Some terms to try:

holocaust
concentration camp*
genocide*
bully* OR bullie*
racis*
world war, etc.

Locating Items Using Library of Congress Call Numbers
This video describes how to locate an item on the DHRC shelves using Library of Congress (LoC) call numbers.

Wright State University Database Searching

QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.

This guide includes tips, tricks, and techniques for conducting successful database searches.

Using Boolean Operators as a way to narrow or broaden your search:

AND: use to combine different concepts or keywords; each result will contain all search terms

Example: race AND holocaust

OR: use to connect similar concepts or keywords; each result will contain at least one of the search terms

Example: holocaust OR genocide

Quotation Marks " ": place around phrases to search for words in that exact order or with that exact spelling

Example: "concentration camp"

Parentheses ( ): place around related terms to search for more than one group of keywords

Example: (holocaust OR genocide) AND race

Asterisk *: use at the end of a keyword to search words that start with the same letters

Example: holocaust AND (bully* OR bullie*)

Database Suggestion:

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
Limited Database Use: Dayton campus only
Note: The site is free, but users must create an individual account to access the content.
Consists of video testimonies of Holocaust survivors, witnesses, and liberators.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies is a collection available from Yale using Aviary. Full access is available with a personal account. Create an account here.
1. Register in Aviary: Click the Login button in the top right corner and select join now. You can read the full Terms of Agreement for using Aviary here.
2. Receive Confirmation Email: After you submit the form, you will receive a confirmation email. Check your spam if it doesn’t show up in your inbox. This is just to verify you are indeed a human and not a bot.
3. Search and Request Access to Testimonies: Return to https://fortunoff.aviaryplatform.com/, login if necessary, and then enter a search term, such as a town name, a concentration camp, or a ghetto in the search bar at the top of the page. Click on a chosen testimony in the search results and request access. Once one testimony request is approved, you have viewing rights for the entire collection. You should receive an approval email a few minutes after you make your request.
4. View Requested Testimonies: Once you get the approval email, if sitting at an access site, you can view testimonies. Just refresh your browser.
For Dayton-area Holocaust Survivor Testimonies, view our Faces of the Holocaust Video Testimonies through the Dayton Holocaust Resource Center (DHRC).