Printable Resource List
- DHRC Resource List: Racism 13-16Printable version of listed resources.
Anne Frank in the World by Call Number: DS135.G3315 A55 2001ISBN: 9780375811777Publication Date: 2001-10-09Over 225 photographs record Anne Frank's world, documenting the rise to power of Hitler and the Nazi
Party, whose systematic elimination of over six million Jews included Anne Frank and her family. Includes Teacher Workbook.
Anne Frank by Call Number: DS135.N6 F7316 2003ISBN: 0737717076Publication Date: 2007-07-13A collection of essays that document the life of Anne Frank and the release of her diary.
Anne Frank and the Children of the Holocaust by Call Number: DS135.N6 F73388 2006ISBN: 0670061077Publication Date: 2006-10-19Gives background information and archival photographs of life during Hitler's rise to power. Includes stories of other children, information about rescuers and an extensive bibliography.
Anne Frank Remembered by Call Number: DS135.N5 A536 2009abISBN: 9781598595239Publication Date: 2009-01-21Hiding Otto Frank and his family in an Amsterdam office building during World War II, Miep Gies shares a remarkable story of courage and devastation along with the special friendship of a young girl whose memory remains in hearts across the world.
Run Time: 540 minutes
Vessels of Evil by Call Number: E441.T47 1993ISBN: 1566390931Publication Date: 1993-10-01Begins with a discussion of the nature of evil, exploring the fragility of human beings and the
phenomena of compartmentalizing, unquestioning obedience to authority, and moral drift.The Last Jews of Eastern Europe by
Call Number: DS135.E83 S75 1986ISBN: 0802225209Publication Date: 1986-11-01This moving photo documentary shows the everyday lives of the Jewish people in twenty-eight
communities in Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, the U.S.S.R. and Yugoslavia. During the winter of 1984-1985, Yale Strom and Brian Blue traveled behind the Iron Curtain to discover these diminished yet thriving Jewish communities.
The Jewish Bible after the Holocaust by Call Number: BS1186 .F36 1990ISBN: 0253320976Publication Date: 1991-02-22The Central European intellectuals of whom Buber wrote in 1926 were disillusioned with modern secularism. Jews of today, having suffered the Holocaust and experienced the rise of the State of Israel, must find new ways to make meaningful contact with the Bible, and this provides a modern interpretation of the Bible for the Jews of today.Echoes That Remain by
Call Number: D804.3 .E24 2007Publication Date: 2007Presents scenes, stories and reminiscences of Jewish shtetl (small village) life before the holocaust.
Run Time: 62 minutes
- Anne Frank in the World Teacher's GuideTeacher workbook for the book 'Anne Frank in the World' by the Anne Frank House.
Anne Frank by Call Number: PN1995.9.B55 A564 2001ISBN: 0788830503Publication Date: 2001Based on the book, "Anne Frank: A Biography" by Melissa Muller, this movie examines and portrays the story of Anne Frank.
Run Time: 189 minutes
TV-14
Anne Frank and the Holocaust by Call Number: DS135.N6 F73156 2003ISBN: 1589501470Publication Date: 2003Students learn how a 13-year-old girl and seven others had to adapt to a very different lifestyle for two years in a secret annex.
Run Time: 21 minutes
Anne Frank: The Life of a Young Girl by Call Number: DS135.N6 F73319 2002ISBN: 9780767066846Publication Date: 1998Tells poignant stories of Anne Frank, a young girl whose too-brief life became a timeless symbol of courage, perseverance, and hope.
Run Time: 50 minutes
Anne Frank Remembered by Call Number: DS135.N5 A536 2004ISBN: 9780767847391Publication Date: 2004Features vintage newsreel footage, photographs and a rare home movie to look beyond the celebrated pages of Anne Frank's diary. Includes interviews with her friends, family and protector, Miep Gies.
Run Time: 117 minutes
PG-13
The Diary of Anne Frank by Call Number: PN1997.D53 2009ISBN: PN1997.D532009Publication Date: 2009After the Nazis begin occupying Amsterdam, Anne Frank and her family are forced to hide in an attic for several years.
Run Time: 179 minutes
The Diary of Anne Frank by Call Number: DS135.N6 F73313 2008ISBN: DS135.N6F733132008Publication Date: 2008The true account of what really happened to Anne Frank. With interview of Anne Frank's cousin Buddy Elias.
Run Time: 100 minutes.
Forget Me Not: the Anne Frank story by Call Number: DS135.N6 F7325 2005ISBN: 9781888337075Publication Date: 2005The story of a remarkable young girl during WW II, told through the eyes of a boy who has fallen into the neo-Nazi movement. He has been whisked away into 1944 to live alongside her as a Jew.
Run Time: 58 minutes
Jehovah's Witnesses Stand Firm Against Nazi Assault by Call Number: D804.5.J44 J44 1996Publication Date: 1996As the Nazi killing machine engulfed Europe with terror, thousands of Jehovah's Witnesses suffered brutal persecution. The reason: they stood firm in their beliefs and boldly spoke out against the cruelty of Nazism. For this, thousands of Jehovah's Witnesses were thrown into Nazi concentration camps. In this video, 10 European and American historians and more than 20 Witness survivors of the period, join in relating their story of courage and triumph against Hitler's religious onslaught. This kit provides a DVD and a VHS copy of the documentary video and a study guide for teacher use.
Run Time: 28 minutes
Paragraph 175 by Call Number: D804.5.G38 P37 2002ISBN: 9781567302547Publication Date: 2002Historian Klaus Miller interviews survivors of the Nazi persecution of homosexuals because of the German Penal Code of 1871, Paragraph 175.
Run Time: 81 minutesPurple Triangles by
Call Number: D804.5.J44 P87 1991Publication Date: 1991The true story of the Kusserow family, one of many Jehovah Witness families who suffered persecution under the regime of the Nazis.
Run Time: 25 minutes
Beautiful Music/In Search of Peace by Call Number: DS126.5 .B43 2007Publication Date: 2007The first film, Beautiful Music, is an intimate and poignant look at the relationship between an Orthodox Jewish music teacher and her autistic Palestinian student. The second, In Search of Peace, chronicles the
first two decades of Israel's existence.
Run Time: 112 minutesEver Again by
Call Number: DS146.E85 E94 2005Publication Date: 2005Narrated by Kevin Costner, this film examines the resurgence of violent Antisemitism in Europe and its
connection to international terrorism currently threatening the entire world.
Run Time: 74 minutes
Image Before My Eyes: A History of Jewish Life in Poland before the Holocaust by Call Number: DS135.P6 I4344 2006ISBN: 9780767087773Publication Date: 2006Josh Waletzky's documentary portrays the enormously rich culture of Polish Jewry in the decades that preceded World War II.
Run Time: 88 minutes
- Anne Frank Video FootageThis link contains archival video footage of Anne Frank.
- Anne Frank HouseThis guide covers much more than just Anne Frank's life story. It is divided into sections about her and sections about WWII that include, Hitler and the Nazis, persecution, the Holocaust, and liberation and aftermath.
- The Butterfly ProjectStarted as a way to educate school children about the Holocaust, the Houston Holocaust Museum has
collected over 1.5 million handmade butterflies from across the world. - A Teacher's guide to the Holocaust -- Jehovah's Witness pageThis webpage includes a brief overview of Nazi persecution of Witnesses, weblinks to other resources and interviews, and a bibliography of additional print resources.