Welcome
In honor of February being Black History Month, the University Libraries is highlighting a variety of resources celebrating and paying tribute to the contributions of African American culture and achievement, including books & eBooks, databases, and external websites.
History of Black History Month
"In 1926, Dr. [Carter G.] Woodson initiated the celebration of Negro History Week, which corresponded with the birthdays of Frederick Douglass and Abraham Lincoln. In 1976, this celebration was expanded to include the entire month of February, and today Black History Month garners support throughout the country as people of all ethnic and social backgrounds discuss the black experience."
From the Association for the Study of African American Life and History.
- The History of Black History MonthDiscusses the history of the Black History Month Celebration, written by Daryl Michael Scott, Professor of History at Howard University and Vice President of Program for the Association for the Study of African American Life and History.
- Origins of Black History MonthWritten by Daryl Michael Scott, Professor of History at Howard University and Vice President of Program for the Association for the Study of African American Life and History.
- African American History MonthThe Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society.
Making Black History: The Color Line, Culture, and Race in the Age of Jim Crow by Call Number: Dunbar 3rd Floor E185.61 .S658 2018ISBN: 9780820352831Publication Date: 2018Making Black History focuses on the engine behind the early black history movement in the Jim Crow era, Carter G. Woodson and his Association for the Study of Negro Life and History
Carter G. Woodson: A Life in Black History by Call Number: Dunbar 3rd Floor E175.5.W65 G64 1993ISBN: 0807117935Publication Date: 1993"Born in rural Virginia during Reconstruction, Carter G. Woodson (1875-1950) was a central figure in black history and an important American scholar. In 1912, he became the first and only individual of slave parentage to earn a Ph.D. in history. In 1915 he founded the Association for the Study of Negro (now African-American) Life and History, and he devoted the remainder of his life to the study and advancement of the history of his race. His legacy of achievement extends to the present day."
Reclaiming the Black Past: The Use and Misuse of African American History in the 21st Century by Call Number: Dunbar 3rd Floor E184.65 .D345 2018ISBN: 9781786632036Publication Date: 2018"The past and future of Black history
In this information-overloaded twenty-first century, it seems impossible to fully discern or explain how we know about the past. But two things are certain. Whether we are conscious of it or not, we all think historically on a routine basis. And our perceptions of history, including African American history, have not necessarily been shaped by professional historians."
Special Collections & Archives at the Wright State University Libraries
- African American Manuscript Collection"The manuscript collections held by the University Libraries' Special Collections and Archives, encompass our mission to preserve and provide access to sources documenting aviation history and the legacy of the Wright Brothers, local and regional history of the Miami Valley, local medical history and aerospace medicine, and the history of Wright State University.
Searchable collection guides, also referred to as finding aids, are available online and in the reading room. Finding aids offer a summary or description of the collection and its organization as well as a detailed inventory of its contents. A collection's finding aid helps researchers determine if a collection contains materials of interest to them and, if so, exactly where that material is located in the collection." - Profiles of African-Americans: Their Roles in Shaping Wright State University Oral History Collection"A collection of profiles of African-American professors, administrators, board members, and other employees that helped shape Wright State University."
- Project STAND (Student Activism Now Documented) Collection"Project STAND (Student Activism Now Documented) is a movement to collect materials related to student activism from college and university campus archives.
This series collects materials related to student activism on Wright State University's campus from the University Archives." - Paul Laurence Dunbar Collection at Wright State University Special Collections & Archives"Born in Dayton, Ohio, on June 27, 1872, Paul Laurence Dunbar was one of the first African American literary figures to garner critical acclaim on a national scale. Although he lived just thirty-three years, Dunbar's contributions in a variety of genres left a legacy that endures today."