It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In honor of February being Black History Month, the University Libraries is highlighting a variety of resources celebrating and paying tribute to the contributions of African American culture and achievement, including books & eBooks, databases, and external websites.
History of Black History Month
"In 1926, Dr. [Carter G.] Woodson initiated the celebration of Negro History Week, which corresponded with the birthdays of Frederick Douglass and Abraham Lincoln. In 1976, this celebration was expanded to include the entire month of February, and today Black History Month garners support throughout the country as people of all ethnic and social backgrounds discuss the black experience."
Discusses the history of the Black History Month Celebration, written by Daryl Michael Scott, Professor of History at Howard University and Vice President of Program for the Association for the Study of African American Life and History.
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society.
"Born in rural Virginia during Reconstruction, Carter G. Woodson (1875-1950) was a central figure in black history and an important American scholar. In 1912, he became the first and only individual of slave parentage to earn a Ph.D. in history. In 1915 he founded the Association for the Study of Negro (now African-American) Life and History, and he devoted the remainder of his life to the study and advancement of the history of his race. His legacy of achievement extends to the present day."
In this information-overloaded twenty-first century, it seems impossible to fully discern or explain how we know about the past. But two things are certain. Whether we are conscious of it or not, we all think historically on a routine basis. And our perceptions of history, including African American history, have not necessarily been shaped by professional historians."
Special Collections & Archives at the Wright State University Libraries
"The manuscript collections held by the University Libraries' Special Collections and Archives, encompass our mission to preserve and provide access to sources documenting aviation history and the legacy of the Wright Brothers, local and regional history of the Miami Valley, local medical history and aerospace medicine, and the history of Wright State University.
Searchable collection guides, also referred to as finding aids, are available online and in the reading room. Finding aids offer a summary or description of the collection and its organization as well as a detailed inventory of its contents. A collection's finding aid helps researchers determine if a collection contains materials of interest to them and, if so, exactly where that material is located in the collection."
"Born in Dayton, Ohio, on June 27, 1872, Paul Laurence Dunbar was one of the first African American literary figures to garner critical acclaim on a national scale. Although he lived just thirty-three years, Dunbar's contributions in a variety of genres left a legacy that endures today."
Wright State University has a variety of resources for African American students. Click on the links below to explore more about each organization or campus resource.
"Provide[s] special programs, activities, and student services that celebrate the diverse African cultural identities and foster lasting friendships in the university community. Offer[s] programs that educate the broader community about black and African American culture. Provide[s] our students with a critical sense of belonging, opportunities for engagement in university life, and the resources, skills, and support necessary to achieve academic excellence and pursue rewarding careers after graduating."
"African-American Residential Caucus (AARC) is an organization that creates a heightened appreciation of African American culture among residents while providing a place where residents can voice their collective needs and concerns. Also, AARC is helping to create social support, unity, and pride among African American residents while promoting community living."
"The Association of Black Business Students at Wright State University, aims to support African American/Black students. We provide workshops, social events, professional networking opportunities, and more. It is our goal as an organization, to prepare students for leadership roles in their community. ABBS strives to empower and serve minority students at Wright State University, by encouraging excellence in academia, real life experiences in a business professional setting, and personal endeavors."
"To Retain, Recruit and Unify all students from the African and African-American diaspora. In addition, we are here to provide students with social, cultural, and political awareness and consciousness for the upliftment of the African-American community here on campus."
"The purpose of this organization is to strengthen the relationship between women on campus. We strive to achieve academic excellence, promote personal and professional development, and cultural awareness. Although we have a primary focus on Black/African-American women, we strongly encourage all to join and participate in our organization. We truly want to build a community of members who feel supported throughout their college career and beyond through our discussion meetings, events, and community service opportunities."
"Wright State's chapter of the National Pan Hellenic Council (NPHC) hosts seven historically African-American fraternities and sororities on our campus. The organizations include Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc; Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc; Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc; Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc; and Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. These organizations provide opportunities for undergraduate students to become involved as active figures on and off campus, upholding the principles these organizations established several years ago."