HINTS
The print sources listed are searched by NAICS code. This code is a 6-digit number that denotes a specific industry/product and can be found at North American Industry Classification System and at SIC & NAICS Identification Tools.
Databases
Key Business Ratios provides data for the most current 4 years. If you’d like to get the older data, Mergent Archives is the appropriate source.
- Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Provides industry benchmark statistics compiled from the D&B database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
- Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Search a vast archive of historical corporate documents and reports. The collection includes reports on corporations, countries, and industries.
- First Research This link opens in a new window
Industry research written from a business perspective. Each report consists of key statistics and analysis of market characteristics, operating conditions, business challenges, industry trends and more.
Print in the Library
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios Dunbar Ref Bookcase 3, HF5681 .R25A45
RMA Annual Statement Studies Dunbar Ref Bookcase 3, HF5681 .B2R6
On the Web
Citing Your Sources
Aside from citing articles and books, have you ever wondered how to cite a company annual report or an industry report? The reality is, there is no "official" style for citing business sources. However, it is common practice to use adaptations of one of the following citation styles: the American Psychological Association (APA) Style or the Chicago Style. Whichever style you choose, use it consistently for the entire project/paper.
- APA Style - for Business StudentsThis customized APA citation guide for Wright State business students is loosely based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th edition). The manual is available at the Information Desk on the 2nd floor of the Dunbar Library. See Chapter 10 for more examples.
- Chicago StyleThe Harvard Business School (HBS) Citation Guide uses an adaptation of The Chicago Manual of Style.
