Article Search Engines (Top Three)
-
IEEE Xplore
Use IEEE Xplore digital library (or IEL) to get full-text access to world wide technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and other related disciplines. IEEE Xplore includes IEEE journals, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings, and standards. IEEE Xplore also points to content from select other publishers including the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), MIT Press, IBM, Alcatel-Lucent, VDE Verlag, Morgan & Claypool, Tsinghua University Press, and Beijing Institute of Aerospace Information (BIAI).
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from IEEE.]
-
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Use Computer and Applied Sciences Complete to find articles on computer theory and systems and the social implications of new technologies. Some full-text is available but you will need to use the Find-It button to determine Wright State access options to some of the literature.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from EBSCO.] -
Science Citation Index Expanded
The Web of Science Citation Index searches the literature that made the biggest research impact. Search SCI when you want to find quality over completeness. Use the Find-It button to determine Wright State University access options to the literature.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from Clarivate Analytics.]
Other Article Search Engines
-
Applied Science and Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
-
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
-
PapersFirst This link opens in a new window
-
ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new window
Article Search Engines (Publisher Collections)
Search these publisher-based collections to find high quality journal articles and book chapters. You will miss relevant conference papers and research reports if you limit your strategy to these search engines.
-
Electronic Journal Center (EJC)
The EJC includes full-text articles from select STEM publishers (e.g.: Elsevier and Springer) and some professional associations. Use this search engine to discover journal articles from more than one publisher. Much of Science Direct and SpringLinK can be found in the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center and Electronic Book Center.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you thru OhioLINK membership.] -
ScienceDirect
Use this search engine to discover journal articles and book chapters published by Elsevier. Wright State has Elsevier access to all material marked with a green square.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from Elsevier.] -
Springer Nature Link
Use this search engine to discover journal articles and book chapters published by Springer. Wright State does not have Springer access to material marked by a yellow padlock.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from Springer.]
Technical Reports
-
DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Defense Technical Information Center is a repository for DOD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering and business-related technical reports. This version indexes only unclassified documents.
-
NASA Technical Reports Server This link opens in a new window
Search for citations and full-text of NASA-created or funded scientific and technical information. Includes conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, and videos.
-
National Technical Reports Library
Search by author, title, or agency to find technical reports. Some are available in full-text. The NTRL was created by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).
-
TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)TRAIL provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports. The project digitizes older reports and provides access to newer reports.
Google Scholar
Ratchet-up the quality of your Google search! Search the Google Scholar tab on the library homepage to find journal articles, conferences papers, and patents. Google Scholar may offer you a link to the paper -- but it is more likely to point to a publisher - who will ask you to pay. The Wright State University Libraries may be able to get you the paper you need without paying.
Use the Settings option:
Tip #1: If you are off-campus and see a reCAPTCHA error message "invalid domain for site key," go directly to google scholar; open the menu; choose Settings; Library Links; find and select "Wright State University - Full Text - Wright State."
Ask Us
Questions? Ask your librarian!
Not here but there ...
The database might point to the article instead of attaching the pdf.
Look for this button:
FindIt analyzes the article citation. FindIt will point to the Wright State University electronic copy of the article if one is available. If FindIt can't find the article easily, FindIt will offer other options. Sometimes FindIt can't negotiate all of the article options and you may need help to find the article manually or order it through Interlibrary Loan.
I found an article but ...
Can't find the full-text? That's normal. Contact the Engineering Librarian. She will help you to find a copy. You may have to place an ILL order for material Wright State does not already own.