What is a scholarly article?
New knowledge is often introduced through peer-reviewed research and published in scholarly journals.
Look for Scholarly Articles Here
Sample search terms for databases
popular culture
gambling and "economic aspects"
anorexia and treatment
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowClick on "connect" to enter the database. Multidisciplinary database; A good place to begin your research. Limit to academic (peer reviewed) sources by checking the box in the left menu.
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
Tip! How to Get Full Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the Find it button on many of your search results. Clicking on the Find it button will open a menu page which will show you where you can find the full-text of the article.
What is a database and why do you need it?
Choosing a Database
Article databases provide you with 24-7 access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles. To help you identify the most appropriate database for your topic/subject:
- Check to see if there is a Research Guide that covers your subject area or topic.
- Consult the database descriptions on the Libraries' Databases and Other Electronic Resources page.
Tip!
You can tell a database to only retrieve scholarly articles by using it's limit or advanced search features. in Academic Search Complete, for example, after you conduct your keyword search, you can select "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" in the left menu.
WARNING: Remember to evaluate the content of the article before you decide it's scholarly. Some scholarly, peer-reviewed journals publish editorials or book reviews, and those will be present in your results if you've selected "scholarly (peer reviewed) journals" although they are NOT scholarly articles.
Ask Us
More research guides
Or use these related research guides: