Research Guides: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology: Protocols, Data, Tools

Online manuals, databases and tools

Current Protocols in Molecular Biology This link opens in a new window
A laboratory manual containing complete lab procedure texts. Illustrated protocols include overviews and step-by-step instructions for basic methods and advanced techniques in molecular biology research.
SpringerProtocols (Springer Nature Experiments) This link opens in a new window
Read full-text laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences. Included are the contents of the Humana Press book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods. Also includes protocols from laboratory handbooks and manuals published by Springer.
JoVE Core Biology
Short videos that teach key concepts in biology.

ExPASy Bioinformatics Resource Portal
Databases and software tools for proteomics, genomics, phylogeny, systems biology, population genetics, transcriptomics, etc.
National Center for Biotechnology (NCBI) Resources
Databases and tools for nucleotide and protein sequences, protein structures, complete genomes and more.
Protein Data Bank
Repository for 3-D biological macromolecular structure data.
Protocol Exchange
An open resource from Nature Publishing Group.
Protocol Online
Free protocols from a variety of laboratory, commercial, and other research sources.

Print manuals and books

Current Protocols in Immunology is in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the Dunbar Library, call no.: QR183 .C87.

A number of the books in the Methods in Molecular Biology series, which make up part of the SpringerProtocols, are available in the circulating collection on the third floor of the Dunbar Library. They are listed in the Library Catalog by their individual authors, titles, and subjects, as well as by the series title.