Primary Source Collections
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Read from this digitized collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced from the 1960's through the 1980's. The collection includes small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, feminist journals, and minority, GI, and right-wing press publications.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new windowWomen and Social Movements in the U.S. offers path-breaking document projects that facilitate the use of documents to study all aspects of American history from colonial times to the present. It includes an online journal and database that features work by leading and emerging scholars, plus all five volumes of the biographical dictionary Notable American Women, as well as all publications of local, state, and national commissions on the status of women since 1963.
Special Collections & Archives at the Wright State University Libraries
- Women's Suffrage Collection
"In 2020, the United States is celebrating the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment which guaranteed and protected women's constitutional right to vote. To commemorate this anniversary the Special Collections and Archives gathered materials related to suffrage from its collections. This series contains letters, photographs, ephemeral materials, and speeches."
Photo from the Wright State University Special Collections and Archives: Martha McClellan Brown Papers, titled "Women Vote" - "A suffrage flyer outlining countries and states where women have the right to vote"
Digital Collections
- UN Women: Digital LibraryA collection of interactive digital content from UN Women, the "United Nations entity dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women." Content includes photo essays, infographics, timelines, videos, and more.
- National Women's History Museum: Digital CollectionsA collection of online exhibits and interactive timelines focused on women's history.
- Creating Icons: How We Remember Woman Suffrage from the Smithsonian"Woman Suffrage. Many Americans learned the saga of Susan B. Anthony leading a close-knit sisterhood in a decades-long crusade for votes for women that ended in the ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment in 1920. This story of their victory inspired generations of women to fight for rights—and still does. But this isn’t the full story."
- Library of Congress Digital Collection: Women's HistoryDigital collections from the Library of Congress focused on Women's History.
- Women's History Month - Digital Collections"The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in commemorating and encouraging the study, observance and celebration of the vital role of women in American history."
- Crusade for the Vote: History of Women's Suffrage"A comprehensive history of the U.S. woman's suffrage movement from it's 18th-century origins through the passage of the 19th amendment"
- Wright State University Libraries Special Collections & Archives: Women's Suffrage Collection"In 2020, the United States is celebrating the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment which guaranteed and protected women's constitutional right to vote. To commemorate this anniversary the Special Collections and Archives gathered materials related to suffrage from its collections. This series contains letters, photographs, ephemeral materials, and speeches."
Questions? Ask a librarian!
Brian Olesko
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
(937) 775-3022
Subjects: African and African American Studies, Anthropology, Applied Behavioral Sciences, Arabic, Chinese, Communication, Criminal Justice, French, Geography, German, Government Resources, International Studies, Mathematics, Model UN, Modern Languages, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Regional Studies, Sociology, Spanish, Statistical Data, Tests and Measurements, Urban Affairs, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies