Classics, Religion, and Philosophy: Religion - Reference Sources

Six years in the making, this state-of-the-art dictionary offers the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship. An essential reference for every serious reader of the Bible.

The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible (in five volumes) provides the best quality in contemporary biblical scholarship on a comprehensive range of topics from the Old and New Testaments, the Deuterocanonical books, and from contextual studies of the ancient Near East and the Greco-Roman worlds and their literatures.

An illustrated encyclopedia identifying and explaining all proper names and significant terms and subjects in the Holy Scriptures, including the Apocrypha, with attention to archaeological discoveries and researches into the life and faith of ancient times.

The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary, revised and updated edition, is the most complete, up-to-date, and accessible guide for the study of the Bible available today. With more than 4,000 lively, informative, and reader-friendly entries, this essential reference book provides all the information you need to understand the Bible.

The Encyclopedia of Hinduism contains over 900 entries reflecting recent advances in scholarship which have raised new theoretical and methodological issues as well as identifying new areas of study which have not been addressed previously.

Reflects the current state of scholarship in Buddhist Studies, its entries being written by specialists in many areas, presenting an accurate overview of Buddhist history, thought and practices, most entries having cross-referencing to others and bibliographical references.

This unique reference is a comprehensive encyclopedia dedicated to the institutions, religion, politics, and culture in Muslim societies throughout the world. Beginning coverage in the sixth century and extending it to the present day, the Encyclopedia covers Muslims in the Arab heartland as well as South and Southeast Asia, Europe, and the Americas.

Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects.

With more than 5,000 entries totaling over a million words, this is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English. It is also the first to cover terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions: Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.

This book explains what interpretation is and what special issues arise in biblical interpretation. The authors analyze the development of traditional literary and historical criticism and more recent social, scientific, and literary approaches, focusing on the key figures from Reimarus to Gerd Theissen, and exposing the underlying theological issues.

The second edition of the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels is a thoroughly reconstructed and revised version of the critically acclaimed 1992 first edition. Since that groundbreaking volume was published, a wave of Jesus and Gospel scholarship has crested and broken on the shores of a new century.

This 15 volume, second edition features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.

This capstone work from widely respected senior evangelical scholar Donald Hagner offers a substantial introduction to the New Testament.

The six-volume Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism is a thematically organized encyclopedia, presenting the latest research on all the main aspects of the Hindu traditions. Its essays are original work written by the world's foremost scholars on Hinduism.

The Encyclopedia Of Islam And The Muslim World, 2nd Edition, is a two-volume set containing over 540 alphabetically-arranged entries designed to support students of religion and world history

v. 1. Encyclopedia, A-Z -- v. 2. Primary documents. Religious life of Muslims ; Terrorism and September 11, 2001 ; Challenges of citizenship ; Gender and Islam ; Race and Islam ; Muslim artistic and cultural expression in America

This encyclopedia presents a broad introduction to Islam that enables learning about the fundamental role of Islam in world history and promotes greater respect for cultural diversity. It provides some 700 entries on Islam written by expert contributors that cover the religion from the birth of Islam to the present time

This book analyzes the distinguished modern Muslim scholar Bediuzzaman Said Nursi and the methodology of Qur'anic exegesis in his Risale-i Nur Collection, with special reference to the views of the early Muslim modernist intellectuals such as Muhammad 'Abduh. It seeks to locate Nursi within modern Qur'anic scholarship, exploring the difference between Nursi's reading of the Qur'an and that of his counterparts, and examines how Nursi relates the Qur'anic text to concerns of the modern period.

Based on the 2009 publication 'The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World', this work brings together new and updated entries, organised thematically around the major themes of political science: concepts, values, thought, ideologies, structures, institutions, and systems. It covers in-depth topics that are unique to the Muslim world, including basic beliefs; Muslim political history; Islam in specific geographic regions; thinkers and reformers; movements, society and economy; and international relations

Information on the major topics of scholarly interest within the study of Islam and women, with more than 450 articles with a concentration on contemporary issues

Fully revised and updated, the second edition of The Wiley Blackwell Companion to the Qur'ān offers an ideal resource for anyone who wishes to read and understand the Qur'ān as a text and as a vital component of Muslim life. While retaining the literary approach to the subject, this new edition extends both the theological and philosophical approaches to the Qur'ān.

The Encyclopaedia Judaica is a 22-volume English-language encyclopedia of the Jewish people and of Judaism. It covers diverse areas of the Jewish world and civilization, including Jewish history of all eras, culture, holidays, language, scripture, and religious teachings.

From manna to witchcraft, Aaron to Zweifel - this fascinating and comprehensive companion is intended as both a personal testimony of Jewish belief and practice and an invaluable guide for anyone interested in finding more about the Jewish religion

Explores the implications of Darwin's discoveries in religion, politics, gender, literature, culture, philosophy and medicine, critically evaluating Darwin's legacy. F

Through waves of new immigration, and the social influence of '60s counterculture, the United States has seen an explosion in the variety of religious practice since about 1965. This two-volume work lets students, researchers, and general readers explore American religion in all its diversity.

A Dictionary of Philosophy of Religion is an indispensable resource for students and scholars. Covering historical and contemporary figures, arguments, and terms, it offers an overview of the vital themes that make philosophy of religion the growing, vigorous field that it is today.

This book provides a thorough introduction to historical and contemporary issues in American religion, including topics such as abortion, Intelligent Design, and Scientology

The Encyclopedia of Science and Religion addresses the interactions, contradictions and tensions between science and religion, both historically and in contemporary life. The two-volume set examines technologies like in vitro fertilization, cloning, and continuing developments in neurophysiology against the backdrop of deeply-held religious beliefs.

Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.

In 2, 800 pages across 4 volumes, Worldmark Encyclopedia Of Religious Practices, 2nd Edition, provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.