It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
Learn which librarian specializes in your area of research.
Books: Loeb Classical Library
Society for Classical Studies from Harvard Press: "In these uncertain times, sometimes you need to look back at the classics. Access to the digital Loeb Classical Library will be free to schools and universities impacted by COVID-19 until June 30th."
Browse all volumes of the Loeb Classical Library on the 3rd floor of the Dunbar Library. "The Loeb Classical Library is the only existing series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture—in short, convenient and well-printed pocket volumes in which an up-to-date text and accurate and literate English translation face each other page by page" (from the Loeb website).
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.
Search hundreds of scholarly, subject-specific reference titles in many topic areas, including the arts, business, education, history, the sciences, technology, literature, and the social sciences. Excellent for in-depth overviews of terms or concepts. Search individual e-books or whole collections.
ORE contains authoritative encyclopedic articles authored by an international community of scholars across all fields of study. The collection of encyclopedias contains in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of disciplines. Browse encyclopedias by title or search across all volumes by topic.
The Age of Titans picks up the story of naval warfare and naval power after the Peloponnesian War, following it through the 4th and 3rd centuries BC when Alexander’s successors built huge oared galleys in what has been described as an ancient naval arms race.
This book collects together ten contributions by leading scholars in the field of Alexander studies that represent the most advanced scholarship in this area. They span the gamut between historical reconstruction and historiographical research and, viewed as a whole, represent a wide spectrum of methodology.
This volume collects essays written by colleagues and friends as a tribute to Tony Woodman, Gildersleeve Professor of Latin at the University of Virginia. These essays, like Woodman's own work, cover topics in Latin poetry, oratory, and Greek and Roman historiography.
n AD 60/61, Rome almost lost the province of Britain to a woman. Boudica, wife of the client king Prasutagus, fomented a rebellion that proved catastrophic for Camulodunum (Colchester), Londinium (London), and Verulamium (St Albans), destroyed part of a Roman legion, and caused the deaths of an untold number of veterans, families, soldiers, and Britons.
This book offers a study of the calendars of ancient Mesopotamia, Egypt, Persia, Greece, Rome, Gaul, and all other parts of the Mediterranean and the Near East, from the origins up to and including Jewish and Christian calendars in late Antiquity. Particular attention is given to the structure of calendars and their political context.
The Roman statesman, orator, and author Marcus Tullius Cicero is the embodiment of a classic. His works have been read continuously from antiquity to the present, his style is considered the model for classical Latin, and he deeply influenced Western ideas on the value of humanistic pursuits and the liberal arts.
Demosthenes' resolute and courageous defiance of Philip II of Macedonia earned for him a reputation as one of history's outstanding patriots. He also enjoyed a brilliant and lucrative career as a speechwriter, and is regarded as Greece's greatest orator, as proved by the rhetorical style of his surviving speeches.
This volume examines interactions between Greek and Egyptian literature, religion, and culture as revealed in Greek and Egyptian texts, covering a period from the 5th century BCE till the Roman Empire. Genres of texts covered include heroic narrative, fiction, history, hymn, philosophy, esoteric religious literature, and magic.
Most people have some idea what Greeks and Romans coins looked like, but few know how complex Greek and Roman monetary systems eventually became. The contributors to this book are numismatists, ancient historians, and economists intent on investigating how these systems worked and how they both did and did not resemble a modern monetary system.
This book contains eleven chapters on myths, tragedies, and the interrelationship between them in ancient Greece. The book's approach focuses on contexts: it is throughout concerned to situate the topics the book analyses within the world of ancient Greece — its landscape, its social and moral priorities, its mental structures, its horizons of expectation.
In his Parallel Lives, Plutarch presented to educated Greek and Roman readers, but especially to leading men of the Roman imperial administration, the moral issues he recognized behind political leadership.
Thessaly’s fertile plains stretch south from the shadow of Mount Olympus. Its numerous small cities were home to some of the richest men in Greece, their fabulous wealth evident in innumerable flocks and slaves.
Ancient Greece was the birthplace of science, which developed in the Hellenised culture of ancient Rome. It examines the role and achievement of science and mathematics in Greek antiquity through discussion of the linguistic, literary, political, religious, sociological, and technological factors that influenced scientific thought and practice.
The history of the Persian Empire in the west has been seen/presented largely in terms of Persian-Greek interactions. However, the fact that the Persians mounted ten campaigns against Egypt from the late sixth through the fourth century indicates that the subjugation of Egypt was Persia’s primary concern in the west.