Books, media, government documents, manuscript collections, etc.: catalog searches
WorldCat contains the books from most of the college/university libraries in the U.S. plus some from Canada and Europe. You may be able to request books you find in WorldCat via Interlibrary Loan.
- Wright State University Libraries CatalogLocate materials owned by the University Libraries.
- OhioLINK CatalogA consortium of 120 Ohio academic libraries. If you cannot locate an item in the University Libraries catalog, try OhioLINK. Some items can be requested for delivery to Wright State University. Look for the green request button.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Identify worldwide library ownership of any type of material. Each entry contains descriptive information and library holdings. Most useful to determine ownership of books, archive literature, and journal subscriptions. Do not use to search for the content of book chapters or individual articles. The FirstSearch version of Worldcat includes advanced search options for highly developed search strategies.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryMillions of digitized works, including books, magazines, newspapers, sheet music, journals, and government documents. (There are no audio/visual files). Only materials that were originally published as open access or are in the public domain are viewable as complete full text. [See Stanford's Welcome to the Public Domain for details about what constitutes public domain]. More at What can you do with HathiTrust? - Everyone (Wright State is not an institutional member).
- Google Books - Advanced SearchLimit to specific categories: all books, limited preview and full view, full view only, or Google ebooks only. Google ebooks include titles that are open access or in the public domain as well as titles without full text access. If you choose the Google ebooks option, you will have the option to narrow to books with Full View only after Google runs the search. Only open access or public domain titles have the full view option.
E-Sources: General Topics and Philosophy
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on notable people from antiquity to the present. Includes portrait images.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete This link opens in a new window
Read reliable biographical and critical essays on the lives, works and careers of important literary figures from all periods and genres. International authors are included but the work focuses on American and British writers. DNLB helps readers to understand writers within a larger perspective of literary history.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Read the full-text of books from academic and commercial publishers, as well as a large number of older works in the public domain.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of scholarly, subject-specific reference titles in many topic areas, including the arts, business, education, history, the sciences, technology, literature, and the social sciences. Excellent for in-depth overviews of terms or concepts. Search individual e-books or whole collections.
- OhioLINK EBC (Electronic Book Center) This link opens in a new window
Read and search full-text scholarly and reference books from a wide range of publishers including ABC-Clio, Gale, Oxford University Press, Palgrave, Sage, Springer, and university presses.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
ORE contains authoritative encyclopedic articles authored by an international community of scholars across all fields of study. The collection of encyclopedias contains in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of disciplines. Browse encyclopedias by title or search across all volumes by topic.
- Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Search a selection of ebooks published by Oxford on economics and finance, philosophy, political science, and religion. Recently-published books are added each year.
- Wiley Online Library
Thousands of full-text journal articles and ebooks from the publisher Wiley and its hundreds of associated professional societies and associations.
