Encyclopedia: Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is a database that has the full text for several good-quality art encyclopedias, including the scholarly Grove Dictionary of Art. A great place to get an overview of an artist or method.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001) and newly contributed articles. Includes art image thumbnails, line drawings, and links to external images.
Encyclopedia of World Art
Encyclopedia of World Art by Call Number: Dunbar Reference N31 .E533ISBN: 9780070194670Publication Date: 1959
Subject matter consists of representational arts in the broadest sense, architecture, sculpture, painting, and other man-made objects with no limits as to time, place, or cultural environment. All articles have been translated into English from the original language ... and correlated with the final editorial work of the Italian edition. Includes bibliographies.
Check OhioLINK
Gale Virtual Reference Library - The Arts
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of scholarly, subject-specific reference titles in many topic areas, including the arts, business, education, history, the sciences, technology, literature, and the social sciences. Excellent for in-depth overviews of terms or concepts. Search individual e-books or whole collections.
Ask Us
Subject Guide
More research guides
Related research guides:
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.