It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
Search broad coverage of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture, and art history. Includes references that cite art reproductions used to illustrate articles and advertisements under the artists names. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
JSTOR has full text for journals going back to the 19th century and ending only 2-5 years from the present.
Focus your search by following these steps:
1 When you get to JSTOR's main page, click the "Advanced Search" link below the search box.
2 On the search page, type in your keywords and then scroll down to check the boxes next to, for example, Architecture & Architectural History or Art & Art History.
Your results will automatically be sorted by relevance; you also have the option to sort by date.
Includes: Citations and links to full-text. A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. The information stored about each article includes the article's bibliography or cited reference list enabling you tosearch the database for articles that cite a known author or work.
[WSU libraries purchased access for you from Thompson/Reuters.]
A collection of art journals and magazines is available to art students for use by appointment in the Visual Resources Center, A 326 CAC. Contact the Art Dept to make an appointment to view these journals available in the VRC. The VRC collection complements the journals and magazines available in the library.
Getty Research Institute BHA and RILA 1975-2007
The Getty provides free access to indexes covering art history literature from 1975 to 2007
Art and Art History historical indexing:
Répertoire d’Art et d’Archéologie (RAA) 1910-1972 - no public online access
Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) 1975-1989 - free access through Getty BHA-RILA
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) 1990-2007 - free access through Getty BHA-RILA
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) 2007 and after - WSU does not have access to this subsequent subscription-only index
RILA was produced at the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute. In 1990 the Getty began to collaborate with INIST-CNRS to produce BHA, a merger of RILA and the Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie. The BHA covers 1,200 journals indexing only those articles within the scope of art and art history. (See list)
BHA/RILA includes both basic and advanced search modules. They can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements. Search results include literature citations not full-text articles.
Ratchet-up the quality of your Google search. Search Google Scholar to find journal articles and other research papers. Google Scholar may offer you a link to the paper -- but it is more likely to point to a publisher - who will ask you to pay. The WSU libraries may be able to get you the paper you need.
Use the Settings option:
Tip #1: Add the OhioLINK "library link" to integrate WSU access options into your results.
Tip#2: If you are off-campus and see a reCAPTCHA error message "invalid domain for site key," go directly to google scholar; open the menu; choose Settings; Library Links; find and select "Wright State University - Full Text - Wright State."
Encyclopedia: Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is a database that has the full text for several good-quality art encyclopedias, including the scholarly Grove Dictionary of Art. A great place to get an overview of an artist or method.
Limited Use: 5 users at a time.
Includes the Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001) and newly contributed articles. Includes art image thumbnails, line drawings, and links to external images.
Art History: new articles
Selected recent articles from the journal Art History: