Identifying Quality Information
People write for many different reasons - to inform, entertain, persuade, mislead, satirize, describe, etc. and the quality of the information can depend on the reason it was written or shared. Information changes as new facts, data, and knowledge comes to light. In an academic assignment, it is important to use information that is reliable, accurate, objective, and up-to-date. You will need to evaluate each source you locate, to determine if it is something that will support or contradict your thesis and/or topic. You will look at more sources than you need, and that is okay, and encouraged! The more sources you read, the more informed you are about the topic and can pick the best resources for your assignment.
Below is a list of videos, eBooks, and websites that can help you evaluate information and sources.
- Evaluating Information: Media Sources - Video Playlist6 part video series
Learn strategies for evaluating sources whether you find them on the Internet, in the library, or in the library’s databases. - Evaluating Sources Using the SIFT Model - eBook"One of the biggest challenges that writers face is finding credible sources. Mike Caulfield created the SIFT acronym to describe four moves that writers should make to evaluate their sources."
- Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research by Teaching & Learning, Ohio State University Libraries - eBookSection 6: Evaluating Information includes chapters on thinking critically, evaluating for relevancy and credibility, and identifying degree of bias.
- How to Spot Fake News Infographic"IFLA has made this infographic with eight simple steps (based on FactCheck.org’s 2016 article How to Spot Fake News) to discover the verifiability of a given news-piece in front of you." -- IFLA
Find Background Information
Sources such as encyclopedias and hot topics databases can be good places to get a sense of what some of the areas of interest within your topic are.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of scholarly, subject-specific reference titles in many topic areas, including the arts, business, education, history, the sciences, technology, literature, and the social sciences. Excellent for in-depth overviews of terms or concepts. Search individual e-books or whole collections.
- Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
Search and read entries from over one hundred social science and science specialized reference encyclopedias published by Sage.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative record of words in the English language. Includes definitions, word origins, and quotations showing the range of word meanings from the time they entered the language to the present.
Compare Coverage
- Ted BundyEntry in The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America: An Encyclopedia
- Ted BundyReddit thread
- Ted BundyNew York Times Archive 1978
- Ted Bundybiography.com article
- Ted Bundymurderpedia.org entry
- Ted BundyFBI / Freedom of Information Act
- Ted BundySerial Killers podcast episode 9 Ted Bundy Part 1, April 2, 2017 & episode 10 Ted Bundy Part 2, April 2, 2017
- Conversations with a Serial Killer: The Ted Bundy TapesNetflix documentary
- Extremely Wicked, Shockingly Evil and VileVariety magazine review of 2019 Joe Berlinger film with Zac Efron
- Tracking a MurdererSample spreadsheet you can use to compare details from sources.
Search for Books
Use the links below to search for titles in the Wright State University Catalog and the OhioLINK Catalog.
- Wright State University Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the Wright State University library collection of books, music recordings, musical scores, journal titles, DVDs, archives, streaming videos, maps, government documents and more. Link to OhioLINK and SearchOhio collections to broaden your search coverage.
- OhioLINK CatalogOhioLINK is the state-wide academic library partnership - you can have books sent to Dunbar or Lake Campus from other academic libraries across the state.
Check out these video tutorials for assistance on searching the catalogs and placing an item on hold:
Databases and Search Engines
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Get full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and the humanities. Full-text may be available via Find-It. Useful place to begin broad searches for general topics.
- Library databases by subject area/disciplineBrowse the subjects and find recommended databases.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Indexes research literature across a wide range of disciplines and formats. Use the library connection to gScholar to get more attached full-text articles.
Snopes
- SnopesGeneral fact-checking website
Fact-Checking Resources
Use these nonpartisan resources to check facts and educate yourself.
- Media Literacy and Fact CheckingCheck out our full guide on fact checking strategies and techniques.
- FactCheck.orgFrom their web site: "We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics."
- Washington Post's Fact CheckerFrom their web site: "We will seek to explain difficult issues, provide missing context and provide analysis and explanation of various “code words” used by politicians, diplomats and others to obscure or shade the truth."
- Politifact.comFrom their web site: "PolitiFact is a fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics."
- PunditFactA spin-off of PolitiFact, PunditFact checking the accuracy of claims by pundits, columnists, bloggers, political analysts, the hosts and guests of talk shows, and other members of the media.
- Ballotpedia's Fact Checking ProjectBallotpedia Staff evaluate claims made by politicians of all backgrounds and affiliations, subjecting them to the same objective and neutral examination process. The focus is always on the claim, not the individual.
Questions? Ask a librarian!
Ask Us
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.