Chemistry Databases
-
Science Citation Index Expanded
The Web of Science Citation Index searches the literature that made the biggest research impact. Search SCI when you want to find quality over completeness. Use the Find-It button to determine Wright State University access options to the literature.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from Clarivate Analytics.]
-
SciFinder-n
SciFinder-n focuses on chemical literature. Search by topic or by chemical structure for materials information, methods, or limited properties. Limited Use: Wright State University Faculty and Students only. [Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from the American Chemical Society.]
-
Web of Science - Core Collection
This option will search a combination of all the available science databases produced by this Clarivate Analytics The search will include familiar citation, biology, medicine, and patent databases. Once connected, review the "select a database" option for a complete list. Use this option if you are not sure which Clarivate database may offer the best results.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from Clarivate Analytics.]
-
Environment Complete
Indexes environmental studies literature including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, technology, marine and freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, and urban planning. Coverage begins in the 1950s.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you through OhioLINK from EBSCO.]
-
QuickSearch
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
[Full-text access is purchased for you through the Wright State University Libraries .]
-
More online resources for chemistryA list of online databases and portals for finding information in chemistry and other related sciences.
Google Scholar
Ratchet-up the quality of your Google search! Search the Google Scholar tab on the library homepage to find journal articles, conferences papers, and patents. Google Scholar may offer you a link to the paper -- but it is more likely to point to a publisher - who will ask you to pay. The Wright State University Libraries may be able to get you the paper you need without paying.
Use the Settings option:
Tip #1: If you are off-campus and see a reCAPTCHA error message "invalid domain for site key," go directly to google scholar; open the menu; choose Settings; Library Links; find and select "Wright State University - Full Text - Wright State."
Article Searches (Publisher Collections)
Search these publisher-based collections to find high quality journal articles and book chapters. You will miss relevant conference papers and research reports if you limit your strategy to these search engines.
-
Electronic Journal Center (EJC)
The EJC includes full-text articles from select STEM publishers (e.g.: Elsevier and Springer) and some professional associations. Use this search engine to discover journal articles from more than one publisher. Much of Science Direct and SpringLinK can be found in the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center and Electronic Book Center.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you thru OhioLINK membership.] -
ScienceDirect
Use this search engine to discover journal articles and book chapters published by Elsevier. Wright State has Elsevier access to all material marked with a green square.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from Elsevier.] -
Springer Nature Link
Use this search engine to discover journal articles and book chapters published by Springer. Wright State does not have Springer access to material marked by a yellow padlock.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from Springer.]
How do I get an article if Wright State does not have it?
If you use the FindIt option and there is no full text, you can request the article for free through interlibrary loan.
Journal of the American Chemical Society: new articles
Loading ...
Ask Us
Librarian
Caroline Pacey
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
937-775-3521
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Biomedical Engineering, Biomedical Sciences, Biomedical, Industrial, and Human Factors, Chemistry, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Food and Agricultural Systems, Industrial and Human Factors Engineering, Industrial and Systems Engineering, Mathematics and Statistics, Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Microbiology and Immunology, Physics, Statistical Data
Scientific Communication Resource
-
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication byCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9780841235830Publication Date: 2020[Wright State University W# required.] The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication provides guidance on all aspects of scholarly discourse in chemistry. The guide includes instructions for reference citation styles and document formatting.
-
ACS Style Quick GuideExamples of references for commonly cited types of sources.
Note to the Reader: This is an open access chapter published under an ACS AuthorChoice License, which permits copying and redistribution of the chapter or any adaptations for non-commercial purposes.
In all of the examples shown here, the source type is online unless noted otherwise.
More research guides
Or use these related research guides:
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.