Chemistry Databases
-
SciFinder-n
SciFinder-n focuses on chemical literature. Search by topic or by chemical structure for materials information, methods, or limited properties. Limited Use: Wright State University Faculty and Students only. [Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from the American Chemical Society.]
-
Science Citation Index Expanded
The Web of Science Citation Index searches the literature that made the biggest research impact. Search SCI when you want to find quality over completeness. Use the Find-It button to determine Wright State University access options to the literature.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from Clarivate Analytics.]
-
Web of Science - Core Collection
This option will search a combination of all the available science databases produced by this Clarivate Analytics The search will include familiar citation, biology, medicine, and patent databases. Once connected, review the "select a database" option for a complete list. Use this option if you are not sure which Clarivate database may offer the best results.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from Clarivate Analytics.]
-
Environment Complete
Indexes environmental studies literature including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, technology, marine and freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, and urban planning. Coverage begins in the 1950s.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you through OhioLINK from EBSCO.]
-
PubMed
PubMed points to many different kinds of biomedical literature including research articles, clinical reports, and case studies. Use the Find-It button to determine Wright State access options to the literature.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased some article level access for you from multiple publishers.]
More database resources for Chemistry:
Google Scholar
Ratchet-up the quality of your Google search! Search the Google Scholar tab on the library homepage to find journal articles, conferences papers, and patents. Google Scholar may offer you a link to the paper -- but it is more likely to point to a publisher - who will ask you to pay. The Wright State University Libraries may be able to get you the paper you need without paying.
Use the Settings option:
Tip #1: If you are off-campus and see a reCAPTCHA error message "invalid domain for site key," go directly to google scholar; open the menu; choose Settings; Library Links; find and select "Wright State University - Full Text - Wright State."
Course Guides
Librarian recommended resources for specific classes:
Chemical Structure Searching
-
SciFinder-n
Focuses on chemical literature. Search by topic or by chemical structure for materials information, methods, or limited properties. Wright State University Libraries Libraries purchased access for you from the American Chemical Society. -
Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-Expanded)
Single- and multi-step new synthetic methods taken from journals and patents from issuing authorities. Overall reaction flow and a detailed and accurate graphical representation of each reaction step is provided for each method (1985-present). Also includes structure data records from the Institut National de la Propriété Industrielle (INPI) dating back to the 1840. Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from Clarivate Analytics.
-
Index Chemicus (IC)
Contains the structures and critical supporting data for novel organic compounds reported in leading international journals (1993- present). Provides new information on biologically active compounds and natural products. Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from Clarivate Analytics.
-
ChemIDplus
Created from more than 100 sources. The core sources of substance records correspond to those substances that are cited in one or more of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. Other sources include the Canadian Domestic Substances List (DSL), European EINECS, EPA TSCA Inventory, the SUPERLIST set of regulatory resources, and other internet databases such as EPA Substance Registry System, the FDA Drugs@FDA system, IARC, NIAID, and NIST Chemistry WebBook. -
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Data collected and offered by the National Institute of Standards and Technology. -
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 100 million structures, properties, and associated information. Integrates and links compounds from hundreds of high-quality sources. From the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Ask Us
Questions? Ask your librarian!
Caroline Pacey
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
937-775-3521
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Biomedical Engineering, Biomedical Sciences, Biomedical, Industrial, and Human Factors, Chemistry, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Food and Agricultural Systems, Industrial and Human Factors Engineering, Industrial and Systems Engineering, Mathematics and Statistics, Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Microbiology and Immunology, Physics, Statistical Data
Scientific Communication Resource
-
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication byCall Number: onlineISBN: 9780841235830Publication Date: 2020
-
ACS Style Quick GuideExamples of references for commonly cited types of sources.
Note to the Reader: This is an open access chapter published under an ACS AuthorChoice License, which permits copying and redistribution of the chapter or any adaptations for non-commercial purposes.
In all of the examples shown here, the source type is online unless noted otherwise.