First steps
Before starting your research, make sure you have a clear sense of what it is that you're looking for. Consider looking at more general sources to get a better understanding of the general topic. Some possible sources for this background searching, or presearch, are listed below.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of scholarly, subject-specific reference titles in many topic areas, including the arts, business, education, history, the sciences, technology, literature, and the social sciences. Excellent for in-depth overviews of terms or concepts. Search individual e-books or whole collections.
- Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
Search and read entries from over one hundred social science and science specialized reference encyclopedias published by Sage.
- Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Organized by topic this resource provides an issue overview, background facts, point and counterpoint representing different points of view. Includes a critical analysis to assist the reader to evaluate controversial topics. Also includes essays, leading political magazine articles from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
- Health StatisticsProvides links to numerous reputable sources of health-related statistics arranged by geographic area and/or topic.
Scholarly articles
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communications and Mass Media Complete offers full-text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals in the fields of communications, mass media and related fields. Some major journals begins from 1915 forward.
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Search a full-text collection of health related resources for consumers. Information is from encyclopedias, reports, images, videos and pamphlets.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Search authoritative consumer-focused health information. Includes health books and pamphlets. Useful to get plain language reading on a variety of health topics.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides free access to the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier database – MEDLINE. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare.
Webpage design tips
The Elements of Graphic Design by Call Number: Dunbar 2hr Reserve Z246 .W56 2011 (Communication)ISBN: 9781581157628Publication Date: 2011-03-15
Questions? Ask a librarian!
