Best Databases for Counseling, Psychology, and Rehabilitation
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Indexes psychology literature and related disciplines including psychiatry, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, cognitive science, and linguistics. Includes journals and book chapters. Use Historic PsycINFO to identify literature published as early as the 1920s. Links occur to full-text when available.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database with nearly 515 full text titles. This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Read American Psychiatric Association books, journals, and assessment tools. Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual DSM-V and APA practice guidelines.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides free access to the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier database – MEDLINE. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Search MEDLINE using the EBSCOhost search interface. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare. MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Cover all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual, health education, and testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Some full-text is included. Other full-text may be available via Find-It.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Educational Resources Information Center contains citations to journal articles and document abstracts on all aspects of education research and practice. Full-text may be available via Find-It and linked ERIC documents.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the social sciences. Represented disciplines include anthropology, business, communication, criminology, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, history, law, political science, psychology, religion, social psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as SSCI.
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
Identify and Access Scholarly Journals for Counseling
- Selected Scholarly Journals for Counseling (opens in a new tab)Librarians at Eastern Michigan University compiled this list. Use this list to identify some scholarly journal titles in counseling, but DO NOT use the links. The links are specific to Eastern Michigan University. Use the Wright State University Libraries eJournals List or AskUs Service to determine if Wright State subscribes to these journals.
- Journal of Counselor PracticeA peer-reviewed national publication, published by the Ohio Counseling Association.
