Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.
General Encyclopedia Entries
- World Book AdvancedUse one or two search terms, such as Arab Spring or World Cup.
Magazine Articles
- MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
High School students will find magazine articles, biographies, primary source documents, and reference books such as the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book, and World Almanac and Book of Facts. Includes photos, maps, and flags.
Subject-Specific Encyclopedias
What's the Difference?
Encyclopedia Entries, Newspaper Articles, Magazine Articles: What's the Difference?
Encyclopedia entries: The World Book Advanced is a general encyclopedia with short entries giving background information on a wide variety of topics.
Subject-Specific Encyclopedias provide in-depth and focused entries on a specific area of study. The articles are often written by experts.
Newspaper and magazine articles usually report on a very specific aspect of a topic and not the entire history of a topic. Newspaper and magazine articles are usually written so that the general public can read and understand them. The content may be very recent because new issues are published frequently. Newspaper and magazine articles are often written by people who are paid employees of the newspaper or magazine. Magazines and newspapers are usually supported by advertising.
Practice Applying the CRAAP Test
Newspaper Articles
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowContains full-text business information including trade publications and newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, AP), company reports, and market data. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal.
