Comprehensive index of critical, scholarly material in literature, criticism, drama, language, linguistics, humanities, and folklore. Worldwide coverage includes articles chosen from over 3,500 journals, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings. Also known as the Modern Language Association International Bibliography. Links to full-text when available.
JSTOR contains the complete digitized backfile of core scholarly journals from a broad range of academic disciplines.
Search among literary critiques, author biographies, literary journal articles, reference works, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, plot summaries, synopses, work overviews and classic novels.
Contains reproductions of literary criticism from other publications. Includes articles from five resources: 19th Century Literature Criticism, 20th Century Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Children's Literature Review, and Short Story Criticism.
To find criticism of authors and their works, search the University Libraries catalog using the author's name and the word criticism.
Example: virginia woolf and criticism
Books focusing on literature, criticism, and theory can be found in many places throughout the library's main collection, located on the 3rd Floor of Dunbar Library. The list of call numbers below are some of the more concentrated areas of the collection.
P: Language and Literature
PN: Literature (general)
PN 45-57: Theory
PN 80-99: Criticism
PR: English Literature
PS: American Literature
Videos:
Introduction to QuickSearch
Brief Look at QuickSearch Results
Effective Search Strategies: Database Limiters
Effective Search Strategies: Use Subject Terms
Saving Sources in QuickSearch
Citing Your Sources with QuickSearch
Use Boolean Operators as a way to narrow or broaden your search:
AND: use to combine different concepts or keywords; each result will contain all search terms
Example: race AND libraries
OR: use to connect similar concepts or keywords; each result will contain at least one of the search terms
Example: medicine OR health
NOT: use to exclude words or concepts; tells the database to ignore concepts implied by your search
Example: technology NOT database
Parentheses ( ): place around related terms to search for more than one group of keywords
Example: (teaching OR education) AND race
Asterisk *: use at the end of a keyword to search words that start with the same letters
Example: education AND librar*