Home - ENG 4110 Campus Woods – Ecology and Place - Research Guides at Wright State University

Searching Tips

You can use these searching tips for your other classes too.

Article databases and the catalog don't recognize phrase searching, so break your topic into the main keywords or concepts. For example, if your topic is the effect of clear cutting on virgin forests, don't type "the effect of clear cutting of a virgin forest" in the search box. Instead, type in "'clear cutting" AND "virgin forest" or something similarly structured.
When you find a good article, look at the footnotes or endnotes to see what articles the author read--you might find a few good ones that you can use. See the box below for how to find articles when you have a citation.
Use truncation to expand your search results, for example, if you type in "environ*" it will capture environment, environmental, etc. Some databases do this automatically, but many do not.
Click on linked author names, subject headings, or any other descriptive terms in book and article descriptions.

Articles - Best Bets

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Get full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and the humanities. Full-text may be available via Find-It. Useful place to begin broad searches for general topics.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Use with Historical Abstracts. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes environmental studies literature including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, technology, marine and freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, and urban planning. Coverage begins in the 1950s. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research index focuses on literature investigating the relationship between human beings and the environment. Includes scholarly journals, general-interest magazines, and government publications.

Google Scholar
This is the only free scholarly article database on the list. In order to see if you can get a copy of the article(s) you need, you have to go through the link above if you are off campus. Using the link above lets Google Scholar know that you are a student at Wright State University and that the University Libraries subscribe to the journal. If there is not a full-text link next to the citation, you will be taken to a pay-wall. If this happens, submit an InterLibrary Loan request for a copy. You never have to pay for an article as a Wright State student.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar works even better when you have it connected to your library. Set up your library link and get results that are available through the University Libraries.

Click Library Link
Type Wright State in the Library Access Links search Bar
Click Search
Check the box next to Wright State University-Full Text
Click Save and start searching!

Articles: finding the full text of an article when you have the citation

How would you find the full text for the following citation? This happens most frequently when you look in the footnotes or bibliography of an article--this is a great way to find other sources on your topic as well.

Cole, Richard. "When Gods Become Bureaucrats." Harvard Theological Review 113, no. 2 (April 8, 2020): 186-209.

Go to the library h ome page and use Quick Search.
Using quotation marks, type your article title ("When Gods Become Bureaucrats.") in the box. Do not type your journal title in the box.
If Wright State University Libraries owns the access rights to the article you will see a direct link to the pdf. You might also see a yellow "Find It" button below the title. When viewing the bibliographic record the "Find It" button may be on the left side of the page. If Wright State University owns the access rights in another subscription database there will be a link in the pop-up window to the full text.
If Wright State University Libraries does not own access rights to the article you want, you will be presented with an Interlibrary Loan option as the last link. Please take advantage of this option for your research needs.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections & Archives has limited resources available on the campus woods. Most of the archival resources are related to the acquisition of campus land from the original landowners and Wright-Patt AFB. In addition to land acquisition records, these resources include research report(s) on campus land, information about the original Bath Township landowners, and information about Rockafield Cemetery.

Office of the President: Fred A. White Papers (UA-11) File — Box: 7, Folder: 32
Wright State University records, Box 7 contains the records of the Warner family property. 1963.
Office of the President: Fred A. White Papers, 1956-1984
Land Acquisition Files (box 4/files 16-28, box 32/file 40)
Founding and fulfillment : 1964-1984, Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio
A Wright State University history is written by Charles W. Ingler, Office of University Communication, 1987. This work is available online in the University's repository, CORE Scholar
Rockafield Family Papers (SC-1)
The collection includes photocopies of reports on the acquisition of Wright State University land and its history of ownership during the 1800s by the Rockafield family. The collection also contains a listing of families buried in Rockafield Cemetery, a Rockafield family tree, and photocopies of correspondence by Rockafield family members during their service in the Civil War. Typed transcripts of the letters are included. Some of the photocopies are dark and can be difficult to read. Available in Special Collections and Archives.
Dr. Robert Riordan Collection of Miami Valley Archaeological Surveys (MS-659)
The archaeological surveys predominately focus on sites in the Miami Valley in Ohio, with the exception of one survey conducted in Tennessee. Available in Special Collections and Archives.
Greene County Room
The Greene County Public Library Local History Collection.

Websites

Land Records at the Archives & Library of the Ohio History Connection
The Archives & Library holds the original land entry books kept by the Ohio Auditor of State which list the first purchasers of land in Ohio from the United States Government, including records of the United States Military District and The Virginia Military District, land reserved by Congress and Virginia respectively, as payment in lieu of cash for veterans of the Revolutionary War.

CORE Scholar

Runkle Woods Symposia
The Wright State Woods Symposium is an annual event where faculty, staff and student from the College of Science and Mathematics and the College of Liberal Arts share their research and artistic creations inspired by the woods on campus. This event was named after James Runkle, professor emeritus and longtime woods researcher.
Bat species diversity and habitat use assessment with focus on endangered Indiana bats in the Wright State University woods
Masters Thesis. Wright State University, Biological Sciences. 2019.
Wright State Guardian: Your Wright Source of News
The best resource to search for information about the campus woods may be back issues of The Wright State Guardian.

Historical Maps

1955 Fairborn, OH Historical Map GEOPDF 7.5X7.5 GRID 24000-Scale
USGS Topo map of Fairborn, OH area including future Wright State University campus area.
1965 Fairborn, OH Historical Map GEOPDF 7.5X7.5 GRID 24000 Scale
USGS Topo map of Fairborn, OH area including Wright State University campus area.
1974 Fairborn, OH Historical Map GEOPDF 7.5X7.5 GRID 24000 Scale
USGS Topo map of Fairborn, OH area including Wright State University campus area.
USGS Topographical Map Locator
A search for topographic maps for Fairborn, Ohio. Select View/Download button to view the topographic maps for free.
1855 Map of Greene County, Ohio - Library of Congress
Includes landowners' names, agricultural and population statistical tables (June 1st 1855), insets of Fairfield, Spring Valley, Bellbrook, Osborn, Yellow Springs, Xenia, Clifton, Cedarville, Jamestown, views of public, residential, commercial properties, and illustrations.
1874 Evert's Combination Atlas of Greene County - Ohio History Connection
1896 Riddell's Greene County atlas - Library of Congress
Maps include the towns of Fairfield and Osborn that would later become Fairborn, Ohio. The map includes names of landowners and acreage. Fairfield and Osborn are also included in the Beaver Creek Township map.
Invasion of America
Between 1776 and 1887, the United States seized over 1.5 billion arces from America's indigenous people by treaty and executive order. Explore how in this interactive map of every Native American land cession during that period. Links to treaties are included in tract descriptions. Lists tribes impacted by the Treaty of Greenville, August 3, 1795.

ENG 4110 Campus Woods – Ecology and Place: Home