French films: OhioLINK
Wright State does not have many non-fiction books in French; however, you can find books in French on French films via the OhioLINK catalog. You can request the books as long as there is a copy available. Below are some links to searches in the OhioLINK catalog:
French films: Dunbar Library
WSU Library Catalog
Find films and books on French films. Useful LC Subjects include:
Specific titles that may be useful:
- Historical Dictionary of French Cinema
- Brutal Intimacy: Analyzing Contemporary French Cinema [3rd floor PN1993.5.F7 P23 2011]
- Contemporary French Cinema: An Introduction [3rd floor PN1993.5.F7 A95 2008]
- The Cinema of France [3rd floor PN1993.5.F7 C56 2006]
We have a print subscription to the magazine Cahiers du cinéma. Come to the 2nd floor and we'll help you find it, then kick back with some coffee and pretend you're at a Parisian cafe while you puruse articles.
Cahiers du cinema: PN1993 .C25 (2000 - present) on the 2nd floor of Dunbar Library
Reviews of Films
You can get the full text of many reviews online using the library databases. To search by publication, use the library's eJournals list.
Try these starting points.
New York Times
-
Factiva This link opens in a new window(1980-present). Limit of 5 users at a time. See video below for help.
-
[Video "How to"] Searching for Newspapers in Factiva
Video by Wright State Student Success and Education Librarian Heather Back. (The Wright State University Libraries site looks different now, but the process for searching Factiva is still the same).
Variety Movie Reviews
-
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window(1914-present).
- Use Advanced Search.
- Type JN "Variety Movie Reviews" to search the specific publication.
- Type movie name in second search blank.
- Use Advanced Search.
Daily Variety
-
Factiva This link opens in a new window(Feb. 2004 - present). Limit of 5 users at a time. See video below for help.
-
Video by Wright State Student Success and Education Librarian Heather Back. (The Wright State University Libraries site looks different now, but the process for searching Factiva is still the same).
Variety
-
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window(July 1999 - present)
Type JN "Variety" to search the specific publication.
Type movie name in second search blank.
You can also find reviews in the library and on the internet.
Other
-
New York Times Film ReviewsCurrent reviews and most of the archives.
-
Variety film reviewsSelected reviews online.
-
Séries et Films FRANÇAISESList from Internet Movie Database (IMDB).
Articles in Film
As you search for articles, remember to try searches for the film's original French title and its translated title. Some articles will be in French.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of critical, scholarly material in literature, criticism, drama, language, linguistics, humanities, and folklore. Worldwide coverage includes articles chosen from over 3,500 journals, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings. Also known as the Modern Language Association International Bibliography. Links to full-text when available.
Streaming Video
-
Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Watch dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as pioneers of modern concert dance. Includes classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from dance troupes; documentaries about leading choreographers; and dance training videos.
-
Music Online: Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Watch video from staged opera productions, interviews, and documentaries. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes.
-
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
View streaming video of definitive performances of the worlds leading plays and film documentaries. Students, instructors, and researchers can bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging.
Internet Resources for French Cinema
These links and descriptions were from the Library of Congress Portals to the World guide for French culture. That site is no longer active but the following links are.
-
Centre national de la cinématographie (CNC)French government agency for the regulation, support, and preservation of French film, audiovisual and multimedia creations. Lists current activities, statistics, reports, and professional organization sites. Lists are in French; individual links may have multilingual access.
-
La Cinémathèque FrançaiseThe Cinémathèque's program and event listings, educational initiatives, publications, and exhibit announcements. In French with some English access.
-
Commission nationale du film France. National Film Commission FrancePractical information for foreign film production in France. Includes links to a production guide and films currently and recently filmed in France. Interactive map links to regional film commissions. In French and English.
-
U.S. Library of Congress. Motion Picture & Television Reading RoomThe Library has several hundred French films, many of which have been distributed in the United States. These range from the early silent films by Lumières and Pathé frères to theatrical features of the sound era, including works by directors such as Renoir, Chabrol, Truffaut, and Alain Renais. One of the strengths of the French film collections is a group of silent shorts produced in 1903-04 by the innovative George Méliès, included in the Paper Print Collection of films registered for U.S. copyright protection between 1894 and 1915.
