Authoring and Publishing Tools
If you need assistance identifying potential journals to which you can submit your research, please contact your Nursing Librarian.
- Cabells Scholarly Analytics This link opens in a new windowDirectories of publishing opportunities in accounting, economics and finance, management, and marketing, education, computer science/MIS, health administration, nursing, and psychology/psychiatry. Each entry includes submission guidelines, circulation data, review type, and contact information. Other available data include journal acceptance rate, time to publication, percentage of invited articles, and frequency of issue.
- Directory of Nursing JournalsA joint service of Nurse Author & Editor and the International Academy of Nursing Editors. Most entries include author guidelines or submission instructions.
- Resources - International Academy of Nursing EditorsResources about the craft of scholarly publishing.
- International Academy of Nurse Editors (INANE)INANE is an international collaborative – a collective of nursing editors and publishers focused on meeting the practice, research and education needs of the nursing profession. Its primary mission is to promote best practices in publishing and high standards in the nursing literature.
- Faculty Support: Scholarly Communication and ResearchStarting points from WSU Libraries.
- Grey Literature in the Health Sciences GuideSelected resources for searching the grey literature.
- Instructions to Authors in the Health SciencesFrom the Mulford Library, University of Toledo. "These pages provide links to Web sites which provide instructions to authors for over 6,000 journals in the health and life sciences. All links are to 'primary sources' - that is, to publishers and organizations with editorial responsibilities for the titles."
- CopyrightResources about rights and responsibilities for both authors and users, including fair use.
Tools to Help Avoid Predatory Journals
Although title lists can be helpful as a starting point, never rely solely on title lists of suspected predatory or reputable journals. They cannot stay current, and they often disagree. Your librarian can help you investigate specific titles and publishers and discuss key characteristics to think about when you are exploring potential publishing venues.
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- Cabells Scholarly Analytics This link opens in a new window
Guidelines for Authorship and Reporting
- Kennedy, M. S.; Roush, K.; Barnsteiner, J. (2012). The Ethics of Authorship. American Journal of Nursing. 112(9): 7. DOI: 10.1097/01.NAJ.0000418903.33925.93A brief overview of what constitutes authorship of a scholarly paper and what does not qualify as authorship.
Funding Opportunities & Compliance
- WSU - The Office of the Vice President for ResearchResources related to Research & Sponsored Programs, Research Compliance, and Technology Transfer.
- Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)-Apply for GrantsGrant opportunities.
- National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)Includes funding from federal parent agency (NIH) and other programs.
- Nursing Research and Program GrantsResearch Grants from Sigma and their collaborative partners.
- Grants.gov - Find Grant OpportunitiesAll discretionary grants offered by the 26 federal grant-making agencies can be found on Grants.gov.
You do not have to register with Grants.gov to find grant opportunities. However, once you are ready to apply for a grant, you will need to Get Registered. This process takes 3-5 business days up to 4 weeks if you experience any difficulties. - NIH - Grants & FundingNIH offers funding for many types of grants, contracts, and even programs that help repay loans for researchers...Includes Guide to Grants & Contracts.
- Rural Health Information Hub - Ohio - Funding (links)Rural health and human services funding resources.
- Links from Morley Library's Grant Resource CenterMorley Library has been designated as a Cooperating Collection by The Foundation Center (now Candid) to provide free access to print and electronic resources useful to staff, board members, volunteers, and friends of nonprofit organizations. Through this program, our library receives printed materials as well as electronic products to assist the grant seeking library patrons in Northeast Ohio. Some access is restricted to onsite users only, but useful open web links are also available on this page.
Searching for Research that Has Already Been Funded
- National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) Supported GrantsThese downloadable spreadsheets list NINR-supported grants for fiscal years 2002-2006. For grant abstracts, as well as information on older NINR grants, please refer to the NIH RePORTER database (see below).
- ClinicalTrials.govNIH. Status indicates whether recruiting, underway, or completed.
- NIH RePORTer This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions, maintained by the National Institute of Health. Replaces the NIH-CRSP 1972-1995 (Computer Retrieval of Information and Scientific Projects) database.
- GrantForward This link opens in a new windowGrantForward provides a personalized funding recommendation service to simplify the grant search process. It’s adaptive search filters make it quick and easy to find the perfect federal, state, or local grant opportunities to start moving your research forward. GrantForward is provided by the Wright State University Office of Research and Innovation.
Ask Us
Questions?
Ask your librarian!
More research guides
Browse all research guides (guides for other relevant subjects such as medicine, anatomy, education, and psychology)
Or use these related research guides:
- Evidence-Based MedicineSources for finding clinical evidence and for understanding the concepts of evidence- based practice in medicine.
- Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) - Nursing"How to" links, tutorials, articles, and videos covering all aspects of the process of Evidence-Based Practice.