Ohio Historical Newspaper Collection
Dunbar Library houses the Ohio Historical Newspaper Collection on the 2nd floor. The newspapers on microfilm include the Dayton Daily News and Journal Herald as well as various newspapers from the 11 counties that make up the Miami Valley. The collection can be accessed during regular Library hours and there are two microfilm scanners located on the 2nd floor near the Info Desk. An additional microfilm scanner is available in Special Collections & Archives on the 4th floor.
Collection Information
The Ohio Historical Newspaper Collection contains microfilm copies of Ohio newspapers from various cities and towns from the 11 counties that comprise the Miami Valley region. A complete list of available titles can be viewed alphabetically by newspaper title or by region.
Additional Newspaper Resources
- Ohio History ConnectionOHC holds an extensive collection of Ohio newspapers on microfilm and in the original format.
- Dayton Metro LibraryThe Dayton Room at the Main Branch of the Dayton Metro Library has a variety of Dayton newspapers available on microfilm. In addition, they have digitized the Dayton Daily News for 1898-1922 (a library card is required for access).
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersThe Library of Congress National Digital Newspaper Project has digitized newspapers from around the United States from 1789-1963. The also have a guide to all American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Collection Location
The newspaper microfilm collection is located on the 2nd floor of the Library in the quiet study area. There are two microfilm scanners on the 2nd floor near the Info Desk and a third in Special Collections & Archives on the 4th floor. Visitors to Wright State University will need to acquire a computer guest pass from the circulation desk on the 1st floor.
Dayton Daily News Archive
Special Collections & Archives, located on the 4th floor of Dunbar Library is home to the DDN Archive (MS-458). The collection is comprised of the clipping and photograph files for the Dayton Daily News and Journal Herald for the 1940s-1990s. Contact the SC&A staff or visit the Archives for more information.
Ask Us
Please use our Contact Us form.
