It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Patent and Trademark Resource Center: Patent Databases
Our library is open. I can schedule a personal session. We have a room that can be used while keeping social distancing. Please use the "Schedule Appointment" link in my profile on the right. I can also meet with you virtually via a WebEx session. You will be asked to download a small app in order to use WebEx. The university has a subscription to WebEx and it is a secure encrypted session. I will be alternatively working from home and from my office. My chat hours will vary. I also recommend contacting the United States Patent and Trademark Office Inventor Assistance Center at 1-800-786-9199, or the Trademark Assistance Center via email at TrademarkAssistanceCenter@uspto.gov.
Access to PubWEST and PubEAST will be by appointment only.
If you have any questions please email me at email@example.com
When the USPTO receives relevant information for its assignment database, the USPTO puts the information in the public record and does not verify the validity of the information. Recordation is a ministerial function--the USPTO neither makes a determination of the legality of the transaction nor the right of the submitting party to take the action.
Contains all patent family applications filed at participating IP Offices, along with the dossier, classification, and citation data for these applications. This service also provides Office Action Indicators to help users identify applications that contain office actions, a Collections View for saving documents and applications for review later on in the session, and the ability to download the documents in an application.
The Hague Express Database, updated weekly, includes bibliographical data and, as far as international registrations governed exclusively or partly by the 1999 and/or by the 1960 Act(s) of the Hague Agreement are concerned, reproductions of industrial designs relating to international registrations that have been recorded in the International Register and published in the International Designs Bulletin as of issue No. 1/1999. International registrations that have lapsed are not removed from the database.
It includes over 73 million patent documents: PCT and national/regional collections, AI-based developed-in translation tool, chemical structure search and CLIR that finds synonyms search terms and translates everything into 13 languages, granting access to documents published in languages that the user doesn’t know.
PubEAST and PubWEST
Located in the Reference Department of the Dunbar Library, PubEAST and PubWEST are the search tools used by USPTO patent examiners in their prosecution of patent applications. To receive training or to reserve the workstation contact the Government and Legal Information Coordinator. Contact information on the right side of the page.
Reed Tech and the USPTO have entered into an agreement to make the following USPTO products available to the public at no charge: Patents (grants, published applications, assignments, classification information, and maintenance fee events) Trademarks (registrations, applications, assignments, and TTAB proceedings).
All data originated from the USPTO. Reed Tech is hosting this data unchanged, except for repackaging some of the data into zip files.
Dunbar Library is also a Patent & Trademark Resource Center. Ran Raider is the government documents coordinator--you can set up an appointment and Ran can teach you how to search for patents. He created the Miami Valley Inventors database as well; there are 1800+ patent documents and 4000 individual names, some with historical notes.
FreePatentsOnline (FPO) is a free patents search system aimed at novice to advanced patent searchers. FPO has advanced record, search, and alert saving features for users who register a free account. By offering varying levels of search form complexity, the system provides a scalable interface that at the low end requires only keyword searching and at the high end offers field searching over 25 data fields via operators such as Boolean, stemming, proximity, and relevance ranking.
With Google Patents, you can search and read the full text of patent grants and applications from around the world. If you're looking for prior art, you can use the integrated Prior Art Finder tool and Google Scholar documents to find patent and non-patent prior art, all in one interface.
Patent Lens is a free patent search system developed by CAMBIA. The impetus behind Patent Lens is a desire to educate people about what patents are and how they can be used. CAMBIA has made several changes to Patent Lens over the last 2-3 years and now has a simple patent search system that has data access to the major patent data contributors such as the USPTO, the EPO, and WIPO. Notably, Patent Lens has full text data from Australia.
Intellogist web site is currently unavailable. PIUG and WIPO are in negotiations to restore the web site that at one time was the property of LandonIP. This update is for 11 May 2018.