Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Help with PubMed: Home

This page contains information about PubMed and how to search it, with specific emphasis on the interface released in May 2020. Unless otherwise noted, these resources are provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

About this page

Interactive video tutorials can be found in the CENTER column of this page.  For full attribution and link, please scroll to the bottom of the page.

What is MEDLINE?

MEDLINE is a comprehensive medical and health science literature database from the National Library of Medicine, including access to references from nursing journals.  MEDLINE is accessible from a variety of interfaces, including PubMed. 

Wright State also has access to a MEDLINE interface through EBSCOHost.  However, it is suggested that you use PubMed because the content is updated more frequently and because, as a government resource, the PubMed interface is available to the public.  Thus, the search interface will be available to you even if in the future, you are not affiliated with Wright State.

Note: Not everything in PubMed meets MEDLINE's indexing criteria or content scope, as indicated in the "How are they different?" link above.  If you want to search only the MEDLINE subset of PubMed, combine AND medline[sb] with your other search elements. See link below for more information about searching citation status subsets in PubMed.

What is MeSH and how does it help me search?

Database and Help Links

NLM PubMed Tutorial: What is in PubMed? (approximate length: 3:00)

What is in PubMed?

Tutorial credit: U.S. National Library of Medicine

NLM PubMed Interactive Tutorial: Find Articles on a Topic (approximate length: 1:00)

Find Articles on a Topic: Interactive Tutorial

Tutorial credit: U.S. National Library of Medicine

NLM PubMed Interactive Tutorial: PubMed Subject Search: How It Works (approximate length: 4:00)

PubMed Subject Search: How It Works

Tutorial credit: U.S. National Library of Medicine

NLM Tutorial: Use MeSH to Build a Better PubMed Query-from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (length: 3:02)

This video demonstrates how to use the MeSH Database to build your own PubMed search using Medical Subject Headings. Although this tutorial shows Legacy PubMed, the MeSH Database is the same, whether you access it from the current PubMed or Legacy PubMed.

Tutorial Credit: National Center of Biotechnology Information

NLM PubMed Interactive Tutorial: Find the Latest Treatments for a Disease or Disorder [Clinical Queries] (approximate length: 2:00)

[video title slide] PubMed: Find the Latest Treatments for a Disease or Disorder

Tutorial Credit: U.S. National Library of Medicine

NLM PubMed Interactive Tutorial: Save Searches and Set E-mail Alerts (approximate length: 2:00)

[PubMed Tutorial title] Save searches and set e-mail alerts

Tutorial Credit: U.S. National Library of Medicine

Documentation from the National Library of Medicine

The above slides are free of copyright restriction, but The National Library of Medicine requests attribution.

Full-Text in PubMed

When viewing your search results in PubMed, you will see this Find It  link on the abstract page or full view of the citation.  This link will allow you to determine whether Wright State has full text subscription access or if you have to request the article using Interlibrary loan. 

Often, in addition to the gold Find It icon, there will be publisher icons.  Wright State may or may not have subscription access to those publishers, whereas the Find It link provides Wright State-specific information.

Interlibrary Loan

If you use the FindIt button and there is no full text, you can request the article for free through interlibrary loan.

Attribution

Unless otherwise indicated, the resources on this page are provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.  These and other resources can be found on the Trainer's Toolkit page linked below.