Skip to main content

RefWorks: Home

The University Libraries will support the Legacy RefWorks through June 2020. Starting July 2020, the libraries will only support the new version of RefWorks and cannot assure the continued access to or functionality of the Legacy version.

RefWorks User Guide

Ask a Librarian

Chat loading...

Legacy RefWorks

Need to find information from your old account?

The link below will direct you to the legacy version of RefWorks. Please note that the University Libraries will support the Legacy RefWorks through June 2020. Starting July 2020, the University Libraries will only support the new version of RefWorks. After that time, we cannot assure the continued access to or functionality of the Legacy version of RefWorks.

"New" RefWorks

The University Libraries will support the Legacy RefWorks through June 2020. Starting July 2020, the University Libraries will only support the new version of RefWorks. After that time, we cannot assure the continued access to or functionality of the Legacy version of RefWorks.


All RefWorks users, including those with Legacy accounts,
MUST create an account in ProQuest RefWorks


The purpose of this guide is to connect WSU students, staff, faculty, and alumni with the information and resources they may require to effectively transition to the new ProQuest RefWorks citation management service. ProQuest RefWorks is a web-based citation management service that allows users to create a personal database of resources, making it easy to generate bibliographies and footnotes for your research papers. The Library provides this service at no cost to Wright State University faculty, staff, students, and graduates.


Use the tabs above to discover:

how to create an account in New RefWorks

how to import references into your new RefWorks account

the difference between Folders & Projects

the new Citation Tools available in RefWorks


Note: Once you've migrated or transitioned to the new ProQuest RefWorks you cannot reverse the process. You can/will be able to access both accounts but if you add a citation to Legacy RefWorks after you've migrated, it does not add the citation to your new account (i.e. they are not linked and are not simultaneously updated). It is recommended that once you've migrated your Legacy account(s) that you delete them so you don't accidently add references to the wrong account. 

 

Login to RefWorks

 

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based citation management system that helps you keep track of your citations and research, annotate text and materials, and create bibliographies. You can organize the citations into specific folders for different projects and collaborate with colleagues and peers by sharing the collections.

It includes the ability to:

  • find references within the library databases as well as on the web
  • find citation full-text and attach it to the reference or confirm the URL link to the full-text 
  • create a reference list
  • write a paper
  • manage separate reference accounts via projects
  • use institution-wide citation styles
  • set custom-defined metadata fields
  • stay organized by adding citations into folders
  • read and add comments or notes to the citations
  • share folders with colleagues who are using RefWorks
  • share folders with colleagues who are not suing RefWorks, via a public URL
  • review and deduplicate large amounts of references - up to 2,000 references simultaneously - by folder
  • save pages from the web via a browser add-on
  • share documents with collaborative annotation (ability to highlight and add notes) as well as various levels of sharing (read-only, annotate, modify)

Introduction to RefWorks

Questions? Ask your librarian!

Questions?
Ask your librarian!

Ximena Chrisagis's picture
Ximena Chrisagis
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
(937) 775-3516

Questions? Ask your librarian!

Kayla Hennis's picture
Kayla Hennis
Contact:
Dunbar Library 210A
(937) 775-3123

Questions? Ask your librarian!

Joanna Anderson's picture
Joanna Anderson
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
(937) 775-3840