Articles: Best Databases To Use
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides free access to the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier database – MEDLINE. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete provides access to over 7,900 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,800 scholarly journals. Academic areas of study include social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE PubMed provides free access to the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier database – MEDLINE. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes psychology literature and related disciplines including psychiatry, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, cognitive science, and linguistics. Includes journals and book chapters. Use Historic PsycINFO to identify literature published as early as the 1920s. Links occur to full-text when available.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database with nearly 515 full text titles. This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new windowA large collection of psychiatric books, journals, & self-assessment tools. Includes the DSM-5, The American Journal of Psychiatry and practice guidelines from the American Psychiatric Association.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts for articles in 1,700 journals in the social sciences, spanning 50 disciplines. Also includes information on individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 scientific and technical journals. Because the information stored about each article includes the article bibliography, or cited reference list, you can also search the database for articles that cite a known author or work.
