Skip to main content

Special Collections & Archives Fun and Educational Activities: Home

SC&A Contact Information

Special Collections & Archives
401 Dunbar Library
Wright State University Libraries
3640 Colonel Glenn Hwy.
Dayton, OH 45435-0001
library-archives@wright.edu
Monday-Friday 8:30am-5pm
Chat Monday-Friday 1-5pm

Wright Brothers Collection

Orville and Wilbur Wright at Huffman Prairie in 1904

SC&A is home to the Wright Brothers Collection (MS-1). Many of the photographs have been digitized and are available on CORE Scholar. The collection guide and educational material, including primary sources and a timeline, are located on our web site

Paul Laurence Dunbar

Paul Laurence Dunbar

Paul Laurence Dunbar (1872-1906) was a poet and novelist from Dayton, Ohio. To learn more about his life and read his poetry, please visit our page devoted to his and writing. 

Dawn

An angel, robed in spotless white,
Bent down and kissed the sleeping Night.
Night woke to blush; the sprite was gone.
Men saw the blush and called it Dawn.

-Lyrics of a Lowly Life, 1896

Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives collects and preserves material related to the Wright Brothers, aviation, the history of the Miami Valley, and Wright State University. Our Miami Valley materials dates back to the early 1800s and includes letters, diaries, family records, business records, photographs, and so much more. In addition, we collect local government records for 11 counties in central, southwest Ohio. The county materials often include the county children's home, county home (infirmary), common pleas court, probate court, sheriff, and township/city records. Please visit the SC&A web site for more information on the archives and collections. 

 

Archives Activities

SC&A staff have created a variety of activities, including Bingo, word search puzzles, and coloring pages, for teachers, parents, students, and anyone looking for a fun, educational activity. Please download and share the resources with classmates, family, and friends. All of the images come from various collections here in the archives. 

Archivist/Reference and Outreach

Bill Stolz's picture
Bill Stolz
Contact:
Dunbar Library 401
(937) 775-2232

Ask an Archivist

chat loading...