Issue and Policy Information
Remember: Be cautious about the date of encyclopedia entries - they will often be 10 years old or more. Use them for foundational information - not current, up-to-date policy specifics. Subject-specific encyclopedias are written by experts to familiarize novice researchers with different aspects of the topic or problem, including affected populations and practice implications.
Building a Search String
Creating a search strategy begins with mapping out or identifying the key components of your topic or research question. Use this handout to brainstorm potential keywords that you can use in your search string.
Social Work Perspective
- NASW Policy Issues"NASW has developed a policy agenda, which asserts the association’s advocacy priorities for the [current] legislative cycle. NASW’s policy agenda is consistent with the NASW policies in Social Work Speaks, which is developed by members of the association at Delegate Assembly."
Social Work Speaks: National Association of Social Workers Policy Statements, 2021-2023 by Call Number: Dunbar 24hr Reserve HV88 .N126 2021 (Social Work)Publication Date: 2021Comprehensive and unabridged collection of policies adopted and revised by the NASW Delegate Assembly in 2020
Scholarly Databases
Databases are useful for locating background information, identifying how the policy is being implemented, and the scholarly perspective of the issue, law, or policy. Topics in social work often overlap with other subject areas and disciplines. It may be useful to search within a multidisciplinary database to gain a complete picture of the policy or issue.
The list below is NOT COMPREHENSIVE and is intended as a starting point.
- Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new windowFocus on national and global public policy issues such as human rights, public health, the environment, housing, international commerce and conflict. Articles from scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents provide up-to-date information on a broad range of worldwide contemporary topics.
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 500 social work and human services journals. Coverage includes therapy, education, human services, addiction, child and family welfare, mental health and more.
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Search extensively indexed books, monographs, and conference papers. This index features citations with subject headings from a sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX covers all subdisciplines of sociology such as anthropology, criminology, demography, ethnic, racial, and gender studies, marriage, family, and social structures, and social work.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers crime trends, prevention, deterrence, juvenile delinquency, justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. Indexes international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports.
- Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search citations to articles on ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration, and race interactions. Links to full-text when available. Includes content from 1975 to the present.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Search journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines. Also contains early-release citations for pre-published journal articles.
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
