It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
Hein Online Academic is a full-text research collection offering U.S. federal publications such as the U.S. Code, Federal Register, treaties and agreements, U.S. and state appellate court opinions, federal legislative histories, presidential documents; a collection of legal classics; and constitutions of the world.
In addition to general searches, check the US Federal Legislative History library.
Note that HeinOnline also includes articles in law review journals, which are often useful for context of public policy impacts and current debates.
Search hundreds of scholarly, subject-specific reference titles in many topic areas, including the arts, business, education, history, the sciences, technology, literature, and the social sciences. Excellent for in-depth overviews of terms or concepts. Search individual e-books or whole collections.
Limited Use: 4 users at a time. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 500 social work and human services journals. Coverage includes therapy, education, human services, addiction, child and family welfare, mental health and more.
Focus on national and global public policy issues such as human rights, public health, the environment, housing, international commerce and conflict. Articles from scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents provide up-to-date information on a broad range of worldwide contemporary topics.
Search extensively indexed books, monographs, and conference papers. This index features citations with subject headings from a sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX covers all subdisciplines of sociology such as anthropology, criminology, demography, ethnic, racial, and gender studies, marriage, family, and social structures, and social work.
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
If you're not sure where to start or what issue to consider, try searching professional organizations for issues of interest. For example, this search is for social welfare issues within NASW's website.
Congress and the Nation is an authoritative reference on congressional trends, actions, and political and policy controversies. This award-winning series documents the most fiercely debated issues in recent American politics.
This link takes you to the policy research tab at the top of the page. Focus, in particular, on
1) the legislative and regulatory history options from ProQuest Congressional (short videos are linked to demonstrate the search process)
2) Policy and Professional Organizations. These, combined with pp. 109-113 in your text give you some suggestions for organizations that might focus on your policy area.
Find summaries and the status of current and past legislation.
Finding books in the library catalog
You can search for keywords (words found anywhere in a description of a book, including the table of contents). When you find a book that interests you, you can find similar books by clickon on any highlighted subject heading. You might want to try some of these subject headings.
Browse, download, or compare statistics from over 225,000 data series published since 1982. Categories include elections, floor votes, campaign finances, interest group scores, economics, demographics, and other topics useful to political analysts. Includes descriptions of each data series source and date.
Includes local, state, and business statistical categories. Search data series for all U.S. States and the District of Columbia, or by counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas down to the zip code level. Download data or use data visualization tools.