Research Guides: Theatre, Dance, and Motion Pictures: Articles

Databases

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
Includes: Citations and full-text to journal articles, books, book articles, and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from EBSCO.]
Film & Television Literature Index
Includes: Citations and full-text to the literature on television and film writing in more than 600 publications.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from EBSCO.]
MLA International Bibliography
Includes: Citations and full-text to critical scholarly materials in literature, including drama and film adaptations. Coverage is worldwide and includes articles chosen from over 3,500 journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from EBSCO.]
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Includes: Citations and links to full-text. A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. The information stored about each article includes the article's bibliography or cited reference list enabling you tosearch the database for articles that cite a known author or work.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from Clarivate.]
Academic Search Complete
General article database that includes coverage of performing arts. Full-text available for most articles.
[[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from EBSCO.]
Humanities International Complete
Includes: Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources in the Humanities.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from EBSCO.]
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Includes: Index, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media.
[Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from EBSCO.]

Databases (More Options)

American & English Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Prose This link opens in a new window
Humanities with Full Text This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Play Index This link opens in a new window

more search engines for Theatre Arts, Motion Pictures, and Dance

Google Scholar

Ratchet-up the quality of your Google search. Search Google Scholar to find journal articles and other research papers. Google Scholar may offer you a link to the paper -- but it is more likely to point to a publisher - who will ask you to pay. The Wright State University Libraries may be able to get you the paper you need.

Use the Settings option:

Tip #1: Add the OhioLINK "library link" to integrate Wright State access options into your results.

Tip#2: If you are off-campus and see a reCAPTCHA error message "invalid domain for site key," go directly to google scholar; open the menu; choose Settings; Library Links; find and select "Wright State University - Full Text - Wright State."

Not here but there ...

The database might point to the article (instead of attaching the pdf).

Look for this button:

FindIt analyzes the article citation. FindIt will point to the Wright State University electronic copy of the article if one is available. If FindIt can't find the article easily, FindIt will offer other options. Sometimes FindIt can't negotiate all of the article options and you may need help to find the article manually.

I found an article but ...

Can't find the full-text? That's normal. Contact the Librarian. He will help you to find a copy. You may have to place an ILL order for material Wright State does not already own.