What is a scholarly article?
Scholarly articles are written by professors, scholars, or other experts in a field and are written for other experts. They are published in scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals. They are evaluated by other experts before they are published to ensure that they are of high quality.
- What is a scholarly article?This outlines some criteria to consider for evaluating whether you have a a scholarly article or a popular magazine article. Also look for the "Anatomy of a Scholarly Article" at http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/scholarly-articles/ to find tips on how to tell whether an article is scholarly.
Articles: best databases to use
Database searching is good for looking for materials on a specific topic in many different journals at the same time. These databases don't use phrase searching, so be sure to break your searches into the main ideas or keywords.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Discover literature from core disciplines in women's studies and the latest scholarship in feminist research. Search womens literature and selected bulletins, reports, dissertations, NGO studies, and grey literature. NISC produces the index.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Links to free and subscription based full-text articles. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, discussion papers, theses and dissertations.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source contains literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues. Indexes LGBTQ+ specific journals, magazines, regional newspapers, books, and reference works.
- Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search citations to articles on ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration, and race interactions. Links to full-text when available. Includes content from 1975 to the present.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
Study the history of US women and their role in social change between 1600 and 2000. Search primary documents, reviews, archive notes, and teaching tools. Includes local, state, and federal level commission reports. The resource will be useful to anyone studying women's issues and curriculum developers.
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
Statistical Data and Other Information
- United Nations Economic Commission for EuropeIncludes gender country profiles and a variety of measures by gender.
- Gender Inequality IndexThe Gender Inequality Index (GII) reflects women’s disadvantage in three dimensions—reproductive health, empowerment and the labor market—for as many countries as data of reasonable quality allow. Part of the United Nations Development Programme's Human Development Reports.
- Human Development Reports Gender Empowerment MeasureThis report is a measure of agency. It evaluates progress in advancing women's standing in political and economic forums. For more information, visit http://hdr.undp.org/en/statistics/indices/gdi_gem/
- RAINN (Rape, Abuse, and Incest National Network)RAINN is an advocacy organization that compiles statistics about sexual violence.
- Guttmacher InstituteThe Guttmacher Institute provides information on sexual and reproductive health and rights.
- UnidosUSUnidosUS, formerly National Council of La Raza (NCLR) (La Raza) is the United States' largest Latino nonprofit advocacy organization.
- NAACP"The mission of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate race-based discrimination."
- Center on Budget and Policy PrioritiesThe Center conducts research and analysis to help shape public debates over proposed budget and tax policies and to help ensure that policymakers consider the needs of low-income families and individuals in these debates."
- Institute for Research on Poverty"IRP is a center for interdisciplinary research into the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the United States."
- The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS)"...the primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories."
- Southern Poverty Law Center"The SPLC is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society. Using litigation, education, and other forms of advocacy, the SPLC works toward the day when the ideals of equal justice and equal opportunity will be a reality."
News Sources
Newspapers can be good sources for information about current situations. Lexis-Nexis provides international coverage, but be aware it comes primarily from a Western focus.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Read from this digitized collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced from the 1960's through the 1980's. The collection includes small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, feminist journals, and minority, GI, and right-wing press publications.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowContains full-text business information including trade publications and newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, AP), company reports, and market data. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text for regional U.S. newspapers and national and international newspapers, newswires, and TV and radio news transcripts. Several national and many regional news sources are included full-text. Abstracts of articles from The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition are also available.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes news publications from around the world. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Access World News is updated daily to keep students informed of current issues and events, and it includes deep archives that provide background information on important topics, enabling students to trace an issue or event over a period of time.
Women's eNews
Women's eNews is an award-winning nonprofit news service covering issues of particular concern to women and providing women's perspectives on public policy.
Questions? Ask your librarian!
Ask Us
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.