Primary Sources
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
The Historical NYT is an online digital reproduction of the New York Times, including photographs and advertisements.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Read from this digitized collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced from the 1960's through the 1980's. The collection includes small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, feminist journals, and minority, GI, and right-wing press publications.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
Study the history of US women and their role in social change between 1600 and 2000. Search primary documents, reviews, archive notes, and teaching tools. Includes local, state, and federal level commission reports. The resource will be useful to anyone studying women's issues and curriculum developers.
Scholarly sources
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Use with Historical Abstracts. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Links to free and subscription based full-text articles. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, discussion papers, theses and dissertations.
Organizations and websites
- Percy Skuy Collection (aka "The Contraception Museum")This unique collection includes a wide range of contraception items, prototypes, and manufacturing devices.
- Guttmacher InstituteThe Guttmacher Institute provides information on sexual and reproductive health and rights.
Finding images
When you select an image for use in a public setting, you must make sure you have the rights to the image. Try an image search through Creative Commons.
Victorian Postcard, Public Domain, found via Creative Commons Search
- PixabayAlways double check the license on every image!
"Stunning free images & royalty free stock; Over 1.9 million+ high quality stock images, videos and music shared by our talented community."
Questions? Ask a librarian!
Ask Us
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.