Home - WGS 4800 - Women, Gender, and Black Freedom Movements - Research Guides at Wright State University

Scholarly databases

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on notable people from antiquity to the present. Includes portrait images.
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the U.S. offers path-breaking document projects that facilitate the use of documents to study all aspects of American history from colonial times to the present. It includes an online journal and database that features work by leading and emerging scholars, plus all five volumes of the biographical dictionary Notable American Women, as well as all publications of local, state, and national commissions on the status of women since 1963.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Discover literature from core disciplines in women's studies and the latest scholarship in feminist research. Search womens literature and selected bulletins, reports, dissertations, NGO studies, and grey literature. NISC produces the index.
QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.

Finding Newspaper articles

Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
The Historical NYT is an online digital reproduction of the New York Times, including photographs and advertisements.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes news publications from around the world. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Access World News is updated daily to keep students informed of current issues and events, and it includes deep archives that provide background information on important topics, enabling students to trace an issue or event over a period of time.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text for regional U.S. newspapers and national and international newspapers, newswires, and TV and radio news transcripts. Several national and many regional news sources are included full-text. Abstracts of articles from The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition are also available.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text business information including trade publications and newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, AP), company reports, and market data. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal.

Images and Videos

You may use these images and videos for in-class presentations, but if your presentation or paper will be posted to the internet or published in some other way, then you must get the image creator's permission to use the image.

Always cite images as you would any other resource. See our guide for Citing your Sources or ask your librarian if you need help.

Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
The Historical NYT is an online digital reproduction of the New York Times, including photographs and advertisements.
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.
Artstor images are available on the JSTOR platform.

Other sources of information

Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Read from this digitized collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced from the 1960's through the 1980's. The collection includes small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, feminist journals, and minority, GI, and right-wing press publications.