Search terms
When you are searching for information about a specific topic, it's important to begin by identifying the main ideas of your research topic. Once you've identified the main ideas of your topic, remember that there will be many different words that can be used to describe the main idea. Think about synonyms of the words you start with, look at the abstracts, subject terms, and keywords of articles you find that are close to what you're researching and try those words in your searches.
Articles: best databases to use
Database searching is good for looking for materials on a specific topic in many different journals at the same time. These databases don't use phrase searching, so be sure to break your searches into the main ideas or keywords.
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Links to free and subscription based full-text articles. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, discussion papers, theses and dissertations.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source contains literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues. Indexes LGBTQ+ specific journals, magazines, regional newspapers, books, and reference works.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Discover literature from core disciplines in women's studies and the latest scholarship in feminist research. Search womens literature and selected bulletins, reports, dissertations, NGO studies, and grey literature. NISC produces the index.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Indexes research literature across a wide range of disciplines and formats. Use the library connection to gScholar to get more attached full-text articles.
- Web of Science All Databases This link opens in a new window
This option will search a combination of all the available science databases produced by this publisher. The search will include familiar citation, biology, medicine, and patent databases. Once connected, review the "select a database" option for a complete list. Use this option if you are not sure which Clarivate database may offer the best results.
Primary Sources and News Databases
Primary sources are original documents created at the time of an event. These can include, among other sources, speeches, interviews, government documents, and press releases. Also look for interviews and other sources that provide original information.
Also you can search for organizations' websites for activists' statements and field reports. When getting information from general internet searches, make sure you are critically evaluating the source and how best to use their information and statements.
- Independent VoicesMagazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press from the 1960s, including feminists, anti-war groups, African-Americans, Native-Americans and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
The Historical NYT is an online digital reproduction of the New York Times, including photographs and advertisements.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes news publications from around the world. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Access World News is updated daily to keep students informed of current issues and events, and it includes deep archives that provide background information on important topics, enabling students to trace an issue or event over a period of time.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text for regional U.S. newspapers and national and international newspapers, newswires, and TV and radio news transcripts. Several national and many regional news sources are included full-text. Abstracts of articles from The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition are also available.
Questions? Ask your librarian!
Ask Us
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.