Welcome
In honor of March being Women's History Month, the University Libraries are highlighting a variety of resources celebrating and paying tribute to the contributions of women, including books, eBooks, films, databases, and external websites.
History of Women's History Month
According to the National Women's History Museum:
"Women’s History Month began as a local celebration in Santa Rosa, California. The Education Task Force of the Sonoma County (California) Commission on the Status of Women planned and executed a “Women’s History Week” celebration in 1978. The organizers selected the week of March 8 to correspond with International Women’s Day. The movement spread across the country as other communities initiated their own Women’s History Week celebrations the following year.
In 1980, a consortium of women’s groups and historians—led by the National Women’s History Project (now the National Women's History Alliance)—successfully lobbied for national recognition. In February 1980, President Jimmy Carter issued the first Presidential Proclamation declaring the Week of March 8th 1980 as National Women’s History Week.
Subsequent Presidents continued to proclaim a National Women’s History Week in March until 1987 when Congress passed Public Law 100-9, designating March as “Women’s History Month.” Between 1988 and 1994, Congress passed additional resolutions requesting and authorizing the President to proclaim March of each year as Women’s History Month. Since 1995, each president has issued an annual proclamations designating the month of March as “Women’s History Month.”"
The Boundaries of Her Body: The Troubling History of Women's Rights in America by Call Number: Dunbar 3rd Floor KF478 .R69 2004ISBN: 9781572483687Publication Date: 2004
A Black Women's History of the United States by Call Number: Dunbar 3rd Floor E185.86 .B475 2020ISBN: 9780807033555Publication Date: 2020
Well-Behaved Women Seldom Make History by Call Number: Dunbar 3rd Floor HQ1121 .U517 2007ISBN: 9781400041596Publication Date: 2007
Special Collections & Archives at the Wright State University Libraries
- Women's Suffrage Collection
"In 2020, the United States is celebrating the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment which guaranteed and protected women's constitutional right to vote. To commemorate this anniversary the Special Collections and Archives gathered materials related to suffrage from its collections. This series contains letters, photographs, ephemeral materials, and speeches."
Photo from the Wright State University Special Collections and Archives: Martha McClellan Brown Papers, titled "Women Vote" - "A suffrage flyer outlining countries and states where women have the right to vote" - Fun and Educational Activities
Special Collections & Archives Virtual Activities: coloring pages, word searches, and Bingo!
Campus Resources
- African American Women in Professional Psychology"To advocate, support, and mentor minority graduate students in the pursuit of their Doctorate of Clinical Psychology."
- American Medical Women's Association"AMWA is a professional advocacy and educational organization of women physicians and medical students. The BSOM chapter’s primary purpose is to provide a space for women in the profession to come together and strive for equality. We aim to promote awareness of women’s health issues through literature dissemination, themed events, and collaborations with interest groups. We also bring students into contact with female professionals in the community to facilitate conversation and mentorship."
- Association of Women Surgeons"The Association of Women Surgeons is dedicated to the mission of inspiring and supporting women in all stages of medical training and to inspire, encourage, and enable female surgeons to achieve their personal and professional goals. "
- Black Women Striving Forward"The purpose of this organization is to strengthen the relationship between women on campus. We strive to achieve academic excellence, promote personal and professional development, and cultural awareness. Although we have a primary focus on Black/African-American women, we strongly encourage all to join and participate in our organization. We truly want to build a community of members who feel supported throughout their college career and beyond through our discussion meetings, events, and community service opportunities."
- Feminist Majority Leadership Alliance"The Feminist Majority Leadership Alliance (FMLA) at Wright State University's purpose shall be:
* To educate members of our institution about issues of intersectional gender-based oppression
* To provide assistance to women in need and others experiencing intersectional gender-based oppression in our community
* To develop new strategies that will promote equity among the sexes, as well as equity for under-represented people
* To work toward the elimination of sexual violence on our campus and beyond, and to bring about accountability to those who perpetrate these acts" - Society of Women Engineers"SWE has given women engineers a unique place and voice within the engineering industry. Our organization is centered around a passion for our members' success and continues to evolve with the challenges and opportunities reflected in today's exciting engineering and technology specialties. We invite you to explore the values, principles, and priorities that guide our initiatives and learn how together, WE can continue to make a lasting impact on the future."
- Women's Center"At the Women’s Center, we create an inclusive, safe environment for women, gender-queer, and gender-fluid individuals where you can feel supported, challenged, encouraged, and connected. We help unite people interested in feminist theory and activism for social justice on campus. We are open to all students, staff, and faculty who want to think and learn about the ways that gender intersects and impacts our lives. Here at the Women's Center, we play an integral role in the university’s commitment to its mission and diversity statements, including its pledge to promote a sense of community and achieve an environment in which personal dignity and respect for every individual are recognized by all."