Research Guides: Women's History Month: On the Web

Museums & Organizations

National Women's History Museum
"We envision a world where women's history inspires all people to have equal respect for everyone's experiences and accomplishments and to see there are no obstacles to achieving their dreams. Women's contributions and accomplishments have largely been overlooked and consequently omitted from mainstream culture. The National Women's History Museum helps fill that void. To this end, the Museum serves to place women's history within current historical narratives because inclusive history is good history. Explore biographies and articles about women making history."
The National Women’s History Alliance
"The National Women’s History Alliance formerly, the National Women’s History Project, is a leader in promoting Women’s History and is committed to the goals of education, empowerment, equality, and inclusion."
National Women's Studies Association
"Established in 1977, the National Women's Studies Association has as one of its primary objectives promoting and supporting the production and dissemination of knowledge about women and gender through teaching, learning, research and service in academic and other settings."
National Women’s Law Center
"The National Women’s Law Center fights for gender justice — in the courts, in public policy, and in our society — working across the issues that are central to the lives of women and girls. We use the law in all its forms to change culture and drive solutions to the gender inequity that shapes our society and to break down the barriers that harm all of us — especially those who face multiple forms of discrimination, including women of color, LGBTQ people, and low-income women and families. For more than 45 years, we have been on the leading edge of every major legal and policy victory for women."
UN Women
"UN Women is the United Nations entity dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women. A global champion for women and girls, UN Women was established to accelerate progress on meeting their needs worldwide."
Because of Her Story
"To create a more equitable and just American society, the Smithsonian American Women's History Initiative will create, disseminate, and amplify the historical record of the accomplishments of American women."
Equality Now
"At Equality Now, we believe in creating a just world where women and girls have the same rights as men and boys. We tackle the most difficult issues, challenge ingrained cultural assumptions and call out inequality wherever we see it. Social change often begins with legal change and so we use the power of the law to create enduring equality for women and girls everywhere."
Dress for Success
"Dress for Success is a global not-for-profit organization that empowers women to achieve economic independence by providing a network of support, professional attire and the development tools to help women thrive in work and in life."

Remember The Ladies: The Importance of Women's History | TEDxColumbusWomen

Dr. Emily Krichbaum earned her doctorate from Case Western Reserve University and is an expert in American women's history and politics.

"Currently, less than 10% of American history curriculum focuses on women. And, of that 10%, 60% highlights American women as the helpmate and domestic partner. How are these selected historical examples shaping the attitudes of young boys and self-esteem of young girls? What would happen if we included more and more diverse stories of American women in American history--and young girls begin to see themselves in the curriculum they study?"

Length: 6m 25s

Ohio Women Vote: 100 Years of Change

The Ohio History Connection Exhibit: Ohio Women Vote: 100 Years of Change

"There are twelve standing panels that tell the story Ohio women from varied backgrounds who participated in the early days of the suffrage movement before the Civil War through the present day. Quotes from articles, speeches, books, letters and oral history interviews allow the women to speak in their own voices."

Length: 18m

Digital Collections

UN Women: Digital Library
A collection of interactive digital content from UN Women, the "United Nations entity dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women." Content includes photo essays, infographics, timelines, videos, and more.
National Women's History Museum: Digital Collections
A collection of online exhibits and interactive timelines focused on women's history.
Creating Icons: How We Remember Woman Suffrage from the Smithsonian
"Woman Suffrage. Many Americans learned the saga of Susan B. Anthony leading a close-knit sisterhood in a decades-long crusade for votes for women that ended in the ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment in 1920. This story of their victory inspired generations of women to fight for rights—and still does. But this isn’t the full story."
Library of Congress Digital Collection: Women's History
Digital collections from the Library of Congress focused on Women's History.
Women's History Month - Digital Collections
"The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in commemorating and encouraging the study, observance and celebration of the vital role of women in American history."
Crusade for the Vote: History of Women's Suffrage
"A comprehensive history of the U.S. woman's suffrage movement from it's 18th-century origins through the passage of the 19th amendment"
Wright State University Libraries Special Collections & Archives: Women's Suffrage Collection
"In 2020, the United States is celebrating the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment which guaranteed and protected women's constitutional right to vote. To commemorate this anniversary the Special Collections and Archives gathered materials related to suffrage from its collections. This series contains letters, photographs, ephemeral materials, and speeches."