Online Historical Newspapers
Unless otherwise noted, the resources below are available to Wright State University students, faculty, and staff through Wright State's institutional subscriptions.
You will notice that there is some overlap in the date coverage between the microfilm and online coverage of some of these titles listed below.
Note: Entering a date search in the search blank with no other search parameters added is not very useful. Even if you limit a date search to front page articles only, you can click to see each article, but don't have the context of where on the page they were or how large they are on the page.
If the only information you have is the date, browsing for the date in question may be more successful than searching by date for getting some needed context. Remember that browsing a PDF of a newspaper issue in the online database tends to be little more time consuming than browsing an issue on microfilm because clicking through pages online takes longer than scrolling through pages on film.
- Dayton Daily News (1898-1922)
This collection provides online, easily-searchable digitized issues of the Dayton Daily News from 1898 - 1922. Every page is full-text searchable and includes images.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Contains page images of historic American magazines, journals and newspapers. These resources illustrate the development of American culture, politics and society from the mid-eighteenth century through 1900.
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
The Historical NYT is an online digital reproduction of the New York Times, including photographs and advertisements.
- HarpWeek (1857-1871) This link opens in a new window
Read the full-text of Harper's Weekly (1857-1912), the leading American illustrated magazine of the period. Covers political, military, social and cultural issues. Search by section: subjects, illustrations, literature, and advertising.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers"Information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages... produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages..." More information about Chronicling America
