Online Reference
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of scholarly, subject-specific reference titles in many topic areas, including the arts, business, education, history, the sciences, technology, literature, and the social sciences. Excellent for in-depth overviews of terms or concepts. Search individual e-books or whole collections.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
ORE contains authoritative encyclopedic articles authored by an international community of scholars across all fields of study. The collection of encyclopedias contains in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of disciplines. Browse encyclopedias by title or search across all volumes by topic.
- Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
Search and read entries from over one hundred social science and science specialized reference encyclopedias published by Sage.
- Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge University Press’ search platform for academic ebook and journal article content. Cambridge Core provides access to over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000 books.
- Wiley Online Library
Thousands of full-text journal articles and ebooks from the publisher Wiley and its hundreds of associated professional societies and associations.
The Routledge Companion to Native American Literature by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781317693185Publication Date: 2015-10-05The Routledge Companion to Native American Literature engages the multiple scenes of tension -- historical, political, cultural, and aesthetic -- that constitutes a problematic legacy in terms of community identity, ethnicity, gender and sexuality, language and sovereignty in the study of Native American literature.
Encyclopedia of North American Indians by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780585077642Publication Date: 1996-01-01Written by more than 260 contemporary authorities, the volume features many Native American contributors - including eminent writers, tribal elders, scholars, and activists - with voices as distinct as their subjects, offering a deeper and more informed appreciation of American Indian life, past and present.
Websites
- Invasion of AmericaBetween 1776 and 1887, the United States seized over 1.5 billion arces from America's indigenous people by treaty and executive order. Explore how in this interactive map of every Native American land cession during that period. Links to treaties are included in tract descriptions.
- Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and TreatiesCompiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, this historically significant, seven volume compilation contains U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII).
- National Museum of the American IndianThe National Museum of the American Indian cares for one of the world’s most expansive collections of Native objects, photographs, and media, covering the entire Western Hemisphere from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.
- American Indian Digital History ProjectThe American Indian Digital History Project, a Digital History Cooperative founded to recover and preserve rare Indigenous newspapers, photographs, and archival materials from all across Native North America.
- Resources - American Indian Library AssociationAn affiliate of the American Library Association (ALA), the American Indian Library Association is a membership action group that addresses the library-related needs of American Indians and Alaska Natives. The resource list includes culture, literature, archives, and advocacy of First Peoples libraries.
Print Reference Sources - Dunbar Library Reference Collections
These titles are on the reference shelves on the 2nd floor of the Dunbar Library. That section is near the Information Desk; ask there if you can't find something!
Dictionary of Native American Literature by Call Number: Reference PM 155 .D53 1994ISBN: 0815315600Publication Date: 1994-10-01This dictionary, produced by the Association for the Study of American Indian Literature, contains 40 critical-biographical essays on various writers spanning two time periods: the historical emergence of Native American writers (to 1800) and the Native American Renaissance (1967-)
Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by Call Number: Reference E 76.2 .W35 2006ISBN: 0816062730Publication Date: 2006-11-30The informative, accessible text summarizes the historical record - locations, migrations, contacts with non-Indians, wars, and more - and includes present-day tribal affairs and issues. The book also covers traditional Indian lifeways, including diet, housing, transportation, tools, clothing, art, and rituals, as well as language families.
The Oxford Handbook of Indigenous American Literature by Call Number: PS 153.I52 O84 2014ISBN: 9780199914036Publication Date: 2014-08-28Over the course of the last twenty years, Native American and Indigenous American literary studies has experienced a dramatic shift from a critical focus on identity and authenticity to the intellectual, cultural, political, historical, and tribal nation contexts from which these Indigenous literatures emerge. The Oxford Handbook of Indigenous American Literature reflects on these changes and provides a complete overview of the current state of the field.
Ask Us
Questions? Ask your librarian!
