Databases of Biographical Information on Authors
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative biographical articles on persons who have shaped the British past. Includes bibliographic references. No living person is included. Entries in the online Dictionary appear about four years after the person's death.
Books of Biographical Information on Authors
Feminist Companion to Literature in English [Reference PR111 .B57 1990]
Biographical dictionary of women writing in English.
Cyclopedia of World Authors Available in the database Literary Reference Center
Cyclopedia of World Authors II Available in the database Literary Reference Center
World Authors Series [catalog record]
Notable Latino Writers [Reference PS153 .H56 N68 2006]
Latin American Writers [Reference PQ7081 .A1 L37 1989]
Biographical Dictionary of Japanese Literature [Reference PL723 .H58]
European Authors, 1000-1900: A Biographical Dictionary of European Literature [Reference PN451 .K8]
A Dictionary of Medieval Romance and Romance Writers [3rd floor PN669 .S6 1962]
American Authors, 1600-1900 [Reference PS21 .K8]
American Writers Before 1800: A Biographical and Critical Dictionary [Reference PS185 .A4 1983]
Contemporary Novelists [online]
Your Subject Librarian
Ask Us
Questions? Ask a librarian!
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.