Research Guides: English: Literature: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the English Literature Research Guide. Use the tabs above to find the materials you need.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Read the full-text of titles listed in the Pollard & Redgrave Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wings Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Read from this online archive of digitized versions of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom from 1701-1800. The collection includes books, pamphlets, broadsides and ephemera covering a broad range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Gale Literature
Search several Gale literary databases combined into a single platform. Get full-text access to literary criticism, author biographies, plot summaries, work overviews, articles, essays, eBooks, book reviews, and classic texts. Used to be called Artemis.

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
Identifies the authors of articles within 45 major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor. Try a search for your topic, collect the citations, and then check the library catalog to determine local holdings. Many titles indexed in the Wellesley Index can be found in Dunbar Microform Journals (on the second floor of the library in Media).
American Periodicals
Contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
HarpWeek (1857-1871)
Read the full-text of Harper's Weekly (1857-1912), the leading American illustrated magazine of the period. Covers political, military, social and cultural issues. Search by section: subjects, illustrations, literature, and advertising.

Sunday Times Digital Archive (1822-2006)
Browse digital image reproductions of articles and ads from The Sunday Times (London, England) for the years 1822-2006. The newspaper is reproduced from cover to cover in pdf formatted files. Note: Search the Times Digital Archives for Monday through Saturday articles.
Times Digital Archive
Browse digital image reproductions of articles and ads from The Sunday Times (London, England) for the years 1822-2006. The newspaper is reproduced from cover to cover in pdf formatted files. Note: Does not include the content found in the Sunday Times Digital Archive.
Historical New York Times
Read the full text of newspaper articles from the New York Times dating back to 1851.

Modern American Poetry
Online journal and multimedia companion to the Anthology of Modern American Poetry. Includes additional poems, essays, biographical material, illustrations, historical backgrounds, bibliographies, syllabi, links to other Internet resources, and more.
NINES
"A scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first." Search digitized works, websites, and JSTOR journals.

Email Me

Contact:

(937) 775-3515

Subjects: Chinese, Classics, Education, ENG 1100, ENG 2100, English Language and Literatures, French, German, Higher Education Administration, Integrated Language Arts, Leadership Studies in Education and Organizations, Modern Languages, Philosophy, Religion, Sign Language Interpreting, Spanish

How-To Videos
Learn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
Research Toolkit
Research Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
Ask Us
Ask questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
Subject Librarians
Learn which librarian specializes in your area of research.