Dictionaries
- Middle English DictionaryPart of the online Middle English Compendium. Also included: HyperBibliography of Middle English Prose and Verse and Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
- Anglo-Norman DictionaryPart of the Anglo-Norman On-Line Hub.
Electronic Encyclopedias, Histories, and Companions
The Oxford companion to African American literature by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0585367760Publication Date: 1997
Columbia literary history of the United States by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0231058128Publication Date: 1988
Reference works in British and American literature by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1563085186Publication Date: 2001
The Oxford companion to twentieth-century poetry in English by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0585261695Publication Date: 1994
Print Encyclopedias, Histories, and Companions
- Cambridge History of American Literature[Reference PS92 .C34 1994]
Multi-volume encyclopedia. - Cambridge Companions to Literature[catalog records]
Helpful introductions to literary movements and individual authors. - Encyclopedia of American Literature[Reference PS21 .E533 2008]
- Bibliography of American Literature (online)also available in print:
[Reference Z1225 .B55] - The Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature[Reference Z2011 .B28 1966]
Also see the Cambridge History of English Literature. - English Literature, 1660-1800[Reference Z2011. E6]
Also see Philological Quarterly. - New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature[Reference Z2011 .N45]
Multi-volume encyclopedia - The Eighteenth Century[Reference Z2012 .E584]
Continued by Eighteenth Century Current Bibliography. Also see Philological Quarterly.
Literary Theory and Annual Summaries
- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & CriticismHelpful introduction to ancient and contemporary literary theory and criticism worldwide.
- The Year's Work in English StudiesSummaries of the most important scholarly publications for the year. All periods of English literature.
- The Year's Work in Critical and Cultural TheorySummaries of important scholarly publications for the year.
- American Literary ScholarshipSummaries of the most important scholarly publications for the year. All periods of American literature.
Questions? Ask a librarian!
Wright State University Libraries (rr)
Contact:
(937) 775-2533
Subjects: Religion, Veteran and Active Military Support
Ask Us
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.