Online primary source collections at Wright State University Libraries
All the resources below are available only in the Dunbar Library or off-campus by logging in with your W number and password.
- Afro-Americana Imprints 1535-1922 This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets, and broadsides from 1535-1922. Includes discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought and racism; descriptions of African American life -- slave and free -- throughout the Americas; and slavery and race in fiction, drama, and the works of African American individuals and organizations.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowSearchable page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. Covers the years 1740 - 1900.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Read the full-text of titles listed in the Pollard & Redgrave Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wings Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Read from this online archive of digitized versions of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom from 1701-1800. The collection includes books, pamphlets, broadsides and ephemera covering a broad range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- HarpWeek (1857-1871) This link opens in a new window
Read the full-text of Harper's Weekly (1857-1912), the leading American illustrated magazine of the period. Covers political, military, social and cultural issues. Search by section: subjects, illustrations, literature, and advertising.
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new windowDigital reproductions of New York Times articles and pages from 1851 - 2009. Includes photos and advertisements. Searchable by title, author, keyword, page, and date.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Browse digital image reproductions of articles and ads from The Sunday Times (London, England) for the years 1822-2006. The newspaper is reproduced from cover to cover in pdf formatted files. Note: Does not include the content found in the Sunday Times Digital Archive.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
Study the history of US women and their role in social change between 1600 and 2000. Search primary documents, reviews, archive notes, and teaching tools. Includes local, state, and federal level commission reports. The resource will be useful to anyone studying women's issues and curriculum developers.
- Sunday Times Digital Archive (1822-2006) This link opens in a new window
Browse digital image reproductions of articles and ads from The Sunday Times (London, England) for the years 1822-2006. The newspaper is reproduced from cover to cover in pdf formatted files. Note: Search the Times Digital Archives for Monday through Saturday articles.
- Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 This link opens in a new window
Search the complete text of journals and ebooks published by Wiley. Unavailable items are marked with a locked icon.
Free websites
All of these websites are available on the free web. Most are projects from universities and university libraries. Please contact me if you would like to add some of your favorite free primary source collections here!
- Cornell Wordsworth CollectionSecond-largest Wordsworth collection in the world. Many digitized works, letters, manuscripts, etc.
- English Broadside Ballad ArchiveContains 6362 ballads and counting! Very cool for all you broadside nerds out there. From the University of CA Santa Barbara.
- Horace Walpole's Correspondence, Yale Edition"Free online access to all 48 volumes of W.S. Lewis’s scholarly edition of the correspondence of Horace Walpole (1717-1797), youngest son of Sir Robert Walpole, England's first Prime Minister." Fully searchable. From the Lewis Walpole Library at Yale.
- Victorian Women Writers ProjectsPrimarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century in many genres. Also now including women writing in the nineteenth century in English. From Indiana University.
- Women Writers Project"Long-term research project devoted to early modern women's writing and electronic text encoding. Our goal is to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible to a wide audience." Based at Northwestern.
Student Success Instruction Librarian
Ask Us
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.